FANDOM


BFbookicon
Edward Défense Rose

Les Cobleigh battant Edward

Tom Cobleigh (inconnue – 1712) était un riche marchand anglais appartenant à la famille Cobleigh, originaire de Bristol et associé aux Templiers.

Biographie

Les Cobleigh entretenaient une rivalité de longue date avec le jeune Gallois Edward Kenway. À l'été 1711, devant l'Auld Shillelagh, une taverne de Bristol, Julian, Tom, et Seth Cobleigh participèrent à une rixe contre Edward, qui cherchait à sauver de leurs griffes une jeune femme nommée Rose, qu'ils avaient enivrée afin d'abuser d'elle. Malgré un avantage rapidement acquis en raison de leur évident surnombre, les trois hommes furent interrompus dans leur sombre besogne par Caroline Scott, la maîtresse de Rose. Deux jours plus tard, ils décidèrent, pour se venger d'Edward et pour le menacer, d'égorger deux moutons appartenant aux Kenway. Cette provocation ne fut pas du goût d'Edward, qui brûla de vengeance, mais il fut tempéré par son père, qui l'informa que Julian et ses associés, tout comme un certain nombre de marchands bristoliens, faisaient partie d'une organisation commerciale, et jouissaient de la protection de ce "cartel"[1].

Quelque temps plus tard, dans le port de Bristol, Tom remarqua que Wilson, le garde du corps de Matthew Hague, balança Edward à l'eau après que celui-ci ait tenté de séduire la promise de Hague, Caroline Scott. Donnant sa main à Edward, encore désorienté par son échec, feignant de vouloir l'aider à remonter, il le frappa au visage dans un rictus mauvais, le faisant à nouveau plonger à l'eau. La rivalité entre Edward et les Cobleigh atteignit son comble lorsque Julian et Tom furent impliqués dans un complot pour tuer, ou tout du moins chasser les Kenway des environs, car Edward avait manqué de respect à leurs maîtres Templiers, Emmett Scott et Aubrey Hague[1].

Ainsi, à la fin 1712, Tom, Wilson et Julian, encapuchonné, mirent le feu au domaine des Kenway pendant que les parents d'Edward dormaient à l'intérieur, et que celui-ci était en ville pour régler les derniers détails de son embarquement futur comme corsaire. De retour à Hatherton, son départ étant différé, Edward tenta d'arrêter les trois hommes, mais fut cloué au sol, battu puis assommé. Ses assaillants quittèrent les lieux aussitôt[1].

Une fois ses parents mis à l'abri, Edward, fou de rage, se rendit à l'Auld Shillelagh armé d'une épée, sachant pertinemment que les Cobleigh y fêteraient leur triomphe. Lorsque Tom, Julian et Seth y pénétrèrent, Edward se rua sur Julian et l'empala, avant de prendre les Cobleigh en chasse. Il assomma Seth, puis pourchassa Tom jusque dans une ruelle. Kenway l'affronta, puis le désarma. Hélas, Tom fut tué par Wilson avant qu'il n'ait pu l'interroger[1].

Héritage

En 1868, deux des descendants de Tom, les jumeaux Ada et Clyde Cobleigh, agissaient à Londres et faisaient partie du Rite britannique de l'Ordre des Templiers[2].



  1. 1,0, 1,1, 1,2 et 1,3 Assassin's Creed: Black Flag (roman)
  2. Assassin's Creed: Syndicate

Fandom

Assassin's Creed Wiki

Tom Cobleigh

8,227pages on
this wiki
Add New Page
Talk0 Share

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.

Eraicon-Blackflag-BookEraicon-Syndicate

In Defense of Rose

The Cobleighs and Julian beating up Edward

Tom Cobleigh (unknown – 1712) was a wealthy English merchant from the Cobleigh family of Bristol, and a Templar affiliate.

BiographyEdit

The Cobleighs and their associate Julian held a deep-rooted rivalry with Edward Kenway, a young Welshman living in Hatherton, near Bristol. In the summer of 1711, Julian, Tom, and Tom's son Seth Cobleigh had a fight outside the Auld Shillelagh tavern with Edward, who was trying to defend a drunken woman called Rose from being abused sexually by Tom. Despite quickly gaining the upper hand, the trio were stopped by Rose's employer, Caroline Scott. Two days later, the group slaughtered two of the Kenways' sheep and placed the carcasses in front of the Kenway house in order to scare Edward, who reacted badly to the provocation. Edward's father refused to let him retaliate, explaining that the Cobleighs and many merchants of Bristol had joined the Trade Organisation, an association of tradesmen protected by "powerful men".[1]

Some time later, in Bristol Harbour, Cobleigh witnessed Edward being thrown into the sea by Wilson, Matthew Hague's henchman, when the young man tried to court Hague's fiancee, Caroline Scott. Giving his hand to a disoriented Kenway in order to seemingly help him get back on the docks, he punched him in the face with a smile, throwing him back into the sea. The rivalry between the Cobleighs and Edward reached a head when Tom and Julian became involved in a plot to kill or otherwise remove Edward from the area after he had upset their Templar masters, Emmett Scott and Aubrey Hague.[1]

In late 1712, hooded Julian, Tom, and Wilson burned down the Kenway farmstead while Edward's parents were sleeping inside and while Edward was in Bristol, embarking on his life as a privateer. Coming back to Hatherton due to his departure being delayed, Edward tried to stop the Templar and his allies, but the group pinned him to the ground, beating him and subsequently left.[1]

After having alerted his parents, an infuriated Edward returned to the Auld Shillelagh, searching for the group and taking a sword from the wall. Once Julian, Tom, and Seth stepped into the tavern, Edward ran Julian through with the sword, killing him before chasing the Cobleighs. Knocking out Seth, he then gave chase to Tom through the farmlands. Kenway caught up with him and disarmed him, but Tom was killed by Wilson, in order to keep Edward from interrogating him.[1]

LegacyEdit

In 1868, two of Tom and Seth's descendants, the siblings Ada and Clyde Cobleigh were active in London as members of the British Templars.[2]

ReferenceEdit

Also on Fandom

Random Wiki