Fandom

Assassin's Creed

Paul Revere

4 652pages sur
ce wiki
Ajouter une page
Discussion0 Partager

Interférence d'un bloqueur de publicité détectée !


Wikia est un site gratuit qui compte sur les revenus de la publicité. L'expérience des lecteurs utilisant des bloqueurs de publicité est différente

Wikia n'est pas accessible si vous avez fait d'autres modifications. Supprimez les règles personnalisées de votre bloqueur de publicité, et la page se chargera comme prévu.

Realworld.pngAC3icon.png
"Avec joie ! Tous les deux, nous traverserons le Charles pour rassembler ces hommes. WIlliam, fais de même en passant par les terres. Robert, tu dois te rendre à Christ Church. Allume le signal. Deux lanternes si notre ennemi arrive par la mer ! Pas question de trainer, mon ami ! Des vies sont en jeu. Allons !"
– Paul Revere à Connor, Robert Newman, et William Dawes à propos de sa Chevauchée de Minuit, 1775[src]

Paul Revere (1735 – 1818) était un orfèvre américain et une figure de proue des Sons of Liberty. C'était aussi un membre du Congrès continental qui participa à la Boston Tea Party.

Le 18 avril 1775, Revere et Connor chevauchèrent de nuit pour avertir l'Armée continentale de l'arrivée des troupes britanniques la veille des batailles de Lexington et Concord.

Biographie

Jeunesse

Revere naquit dans le North End de Boston, dans le Massachusetts, le 1er janvier 1735, fils d'Apollos Rivoire et de Deborah Hitchborn. A l'âge de 13 ans, il quitta l'école pour travailler auprès de son père orfèvre. Malheureusement, à la mort d'Apollos en 1754, Revere fut incapable de gérer les affaires.

Quelques années plus tard, pendant la guerre de Sept Ans, Paul s'engagea auprès de l'Armée Provinciale en février 1756. Second lieutenant d'un régiment d'artillerie, il était posté au Fort William Henry à New York

Toutefois, Revere apprécia peu la vie militaire, et retourna alors à Boston pour redevenir orfèvre. Il y épousa Sarah Orne, avec laquelle il eut huit enfants.

Engagement dans la Révolution

"C'est un appel à l'aide de Paul Revere. Les tuniques rouges préparent quelque chose à Boston. Tu as dû faire forte impression sur les Fils de la Liberté."
Achilles Davenport envoyant Connor à l'aide de Revere, 1775[src]

Paul Revere participa activement à la Révolution américaine vers 1765 au cours du Stamp Act. Bien qu'il ne faisait pas partie intégrante des manifestants, il entretenait quelques liens avec eux.

La Chevauchée de Minuit 7.png

Connor faisant la connaissance de Paul Revere

En 1765, d'un groupe de manifestants se forma les Fils de la Liberté (Sons of Liberty), que Revere rejoignit plus tard. Il joua un rôle important dans leur propagande en produisant des gravures à thèmes politiques. Cependant, son rôle ne s'arrêta pas là, puisqu'il les aida également lors de la Boston Tea Party.

Chevauchée de Minuit

"Oui. Il mène une attaque contre Lexington, où Adams et Hancock se sont réfugiés. Ensuite, il marchera sur Concord, pour y détruire nos armes et nos vivres. Tu dois nous aider !"
– Revere à Connor, 1775[src]

Durant la Guerre d'Indépendance, Revere s'associa à l'Assassin Connor. Le 18 avril 1775, c'était l'un des cavaliers envoyés avertir Lexington et Concord d'une attaque imminente. On lui demanda de se rendre dans la Frontière pour rassembler les Patriotes. Son message avait pour objectif de repousser les Loyalistes de Samuel Adams et John Hancock. Toutefois, le ralliement des Patriotes n'était pas la seule raison de cette chevauchée, puisque c'était aussi une chance pour Connor d'assassiner l'officier britannique John Pitcairn.

La Chevauchée de Minuit 13.png

Connor et Revere avertissant Prescott de l'arrivée des Loyalistes

Pour être sûr que le message soit délivré, William Dawes prit également le chemin de Lexington en passant par Boston Neck, tandis que Revere et Connor prenaient le chemin depuis la péninsule de Charlestown, avant de monter à cheval. Le début de leur chevauchée se fit en toute discrétion. Mais ils furent surpris de découvrir que les Anglais les attendaient dans une des maisons qu'ils visitèrent. Revere et Connor parvinrent à s'échapper et se rendirent dans la dernière demeure, où ils rencontrèrent leur contact, Samuel Prescott, et sa fiancée.

Après avoir informé Prescott de la situation, Connor et Revere allèrent à la maison Hancock-Clarke de Lexington, où ils avertirent Adams et Hancock, leur demandant de s'enfuir. Une fois leur mission accomplie, Revere et Dawes partirent à Concord, et laissèrent Connor et John Parker défendre la ville.

Une fois qu'ils eurent atteint Concord, le groupe fut arrêté par une patrouille britannique. Prescott parvint à s'enfuir et à avertir la milice, mais Dawes se cacha dans une grange après avoir perdu son cheval. Revere fut capturé mais s'enfuit dès le début des Batailles de Lexington et Concord. Il retourna à Lexington, où il découvrit Hancock préparer la charge de la milice. Il parvint à le convaincre de rester en dehors des escarmouches et déroba plusieurs documents patriotes pour les laisser hors des mains anglaises.

Fin de vie

Après la fin de la Guerre d'indépendance, Revere ouvrit son propre magasin à Boston. En 1788, Revere investit tout son argent dans l'achat d'un grand fourneau, ce qui eut pour conséquence la construction d'une usine dans le North End de Boston, qui produisait de nombreux articles en fonte.

Après avoir étendu son entreprise, Revere se mit au forgeage de cloches, dont celle de King's Chapel. A la vue de son succès, il fonda Paul Revere & Sons, avec la participation de ses fils.

En 1792, Paul fonda Revere Copper & Brass Inc. après avoir découvert une autre utilité pour son fourneau. Il resta dans la politique avant de mourir le 10 mail 1818 à l'âge de 83 ans.

Héritage

Tout au long de sa vie, Revere fut orfèvre, politicien, Patriote, entrepreneur, et beaucoup d'autres métiers qui lui rapportèrent beaucoup. Si Revere est surtout connu pour sa Chevauchée de Minuit, il aida également les Sons of Liberty dans beaucoup d'actions rebelles qui s'avérèrent essentielles dans leur quête de liberté.

Revere demeura une figure de proue de l'histoire américaine pour avoir joué un rôle clé dans le combat pour la liberté. De plus, la maison de Paul Revere devint l'un des plus anciens musées des États-Unis.

Personnalité

De manière générale, Revere était un homme plutôt heureux, enjoué et optimiste. Il savait toutefois se montrer sérieux quand les circonstances l'exigeaient, comme par exemple lors de sa Chevauchée. Il était également assez bavard.

Note

  • Historiquement, Revere ne chevaucha que de Cambridge à Boston durant sa Chevauchée.

Galerie


Sur le réseau Fandom

Wiki au hasard

Wikia

Assassin's Creed Wiki

Paul Revere

Talk1
5,108pages on
this wiki
Eraicon-AC3

Smallwikipedialogo
"Indeed, you and I will cross the Charles river and rouse the boys. William, I need you to take the overland route and do the same. Robert, I need you up in Christ Church. Light the signal. Two lanterns - our enemy comes by sea! No time for dawdling, my friend! We have lives to save."
―Paul Revere to Connor, Robert Newman, and William Dawes concerning the Midnight Ride.[src]
Paul Revere
ACIII-Paul Revere V
Biographical information
Born

21 December 1734
Boston, Massachusetts Bay, British America

Died

10 May 1818 (aged 83)
Boston, Massachusetts, United States

Political information
Affiliations

Continental Army
Sons of Liberty

Real-world information
Appears in

Assassin's Creed III

Voice actor

Bruce Dinsmore

Paul Revere (1735 – 1818) was an American silversmith and a leading figure in the Sons of Liberty. In addition, he was a member of the Continental Congress and a participant in the Boston Tea Party.

On 18 April 1775, Revere and Ratonhnhaké:ton rode throughout the night to alert Continental Army of approaching British Army forces before the battles of Lexington and Concord.

BiographyEdit

Early lifeEdit

Revere was born in the North End of Boston, Massachusetts, on 21 December 1734 to Apollos Rivoire and Deborah Hitchborn. At age 13, Paul left his school life to become an apprentice of his father, who was a silversmith. Unfortunately, when Apollos passed away in 1754, Paul was unable to legally obtain control over the silversmith business.

A few years later, during the French and Indian War, Paul elected to enlist in the Provincial Army in February of 1756. Initially commissioned as a second lieutenant in a provincial artillery regiment, he was stationed at Fort William Henry in New York.

However, life in the army did not last long for Revere, and he ended up back in Boston to reclaim the title of silversmith, only this time under his own name. Once back in Boston, Paul married Sarah Orne, who ended up mothering eight children.

Joining the RevolutionEdit

"A request for aid from Paul Revere. Seems the Redcoats are up to something in Boston. Guess you made an impression on the Sons of Liberty."
Achilles Davenport sending Connor to Paul's aid.[src]

Paul Revere became involved in the American Revolution around 1765 during the Stamp Act. Although Paul was not a part of the original set of Stamp Act protesters, he was connected with those involved with the movement.

ACIII-Midnightride 7

Connor meeting with Revere

In 1765, a group of militants formed what was known as the Sons of Liberty. Although Paul was not involved with the protesters of the Stamp Act, he did join the Sons of Liberty, and from 1765 onward, Paul was involved with the Sons by producing engravings or artifacts with political themes. However, Revere's duties did not stop at simple anti-British propaganda, and he also helped lead the Boston Tea Party.

Midnight RideEdit

"Aye. He's readying an assault on Lexington, where Adams and Hancock have taken shelter. After that, he will march on Concord - hoping to destroy our weapons and supplies. You must help us!"
―Paul pleading for help from Connor.[src]

Shortly before the American Revolutionary War, Revere became an associate of the Assassin Connor. On 18 April 1775, he was one of several riders sent by Joseph Warren to warn Lexington and Concord of a coming military raid. Revere was tasked to ride to the Frontier to rally the Patriot troops. His message was to repel the Regular advance for Samuel Adams and John Hancock. However, the rallying of Patriots was not the only cause for the ride, as it enabled Connor to assassinate the British officer John Pitcairn.

ACIII-Midnightride 13

Revere and Connor warning Prescott of the Regulars

To ensure that the meassage was delivered, William Dawes also rode for Lexington acroos Boston Neck, while Revere and Connor rowed to the Charlestown peninsula, before mounting a horse. The beginning of the ride went smoothly as Revere and Connor rallied Patriots without any detection from the Regulars. However, at one of the later homes they visited, they were surprised to see the British already waiting for them. Revere and Connor escaped and made their way to the final home, in which they found their contact, Samuel Prescott, and his fiancée.

After warning Prescott, Revere and Connor reached the Hancock-Clarke House in Lexington, where they met with Adams and Hancock and warned them to leave. Once their mission of warning the Patriots was complete, Revere and Dawes continued on to Concord with Prescott, leaving Connor and John Parker to defend the town.

Once they reached Concord, the group was stopped by a British patrol. Prescott managed to escape and warn the militia, and Dawes hid in a barn after losing his horse. Revere was captured, but escaped, as soon as the Battles of Lexington and Concord began. He returned to Lexington, and saw Hancock preparing to lead the militia. Revere convinced Hancock to stay out of combat, and took several Patriot documents to keep them out of British hands.

Later lifeEdit

After the conclusion of the American Revolutionary War, Revere opened up his own hardware and home-goods store in Boston. By 1788, Revere had invested the money he had earned through his silver-work into purchasing a large furnace. This attributed to his opening of an iron factory in Boston's North End, which produced utilitarian cast items.

After deciding to expand his business, Revere entered the realm of bell forging, eventually making the bell for King's Chapel. Following his success in bell making, Paul joined up with his sons to create the Paul Revere & Sons Firm.

In 1792, Paul found other uses for his furnace, and moved on to create the Revere Copper & Brass Inc. Revere remained politically active until his death on 10 May 1818, at the age of 83.

LegacyEdit

Throughout his life, Revere was a silversmith, politician, Patriot, entrepreneur, and also worked in many other trades according to what made the most profit. Although Revere is most notably recognized for his Midnight Ride, he also assisted the Sons of Liberty in many of the Rebel acts that proved to be essential in the quest for freedom.

Revere remains an iconic historical figure in American history for serving a key role in the fight for freedom. Additionally, Revere's home became one of the earliest historic house museums in the United States.

Personality and characteristicsEdit

In general, Revere appeared to be a rather upbeat individual, cheery and optimistic. He also displayed a serious persona when the time needed him to be as such, evident during the Midnight Ride. He occasionally proved to be a talkative individual.

TriviaEdit

  • Historically, Revere only rode from Cambridge to Boston during the Midnight Ride.

GalleryEdit

ReferenceEdit

Around Wikia's network

Random Wiki