Fandom

Assassin's Creed

Jean-François Champollion

4 636pages sur
ce wiki
Ajouter une page
Discussion0 Share

Interférence d'un bloqueur de publicité détectée !


Wikia est un site gratuit qui compte sur les revenus de la publicité. L'expérience des lecteurs utilisant des bloqueurs de publicité est différente

Wikia n'est pas accessible si vous avez fait d'autres modifications. Supprimez les règles personnalisées de votre bloqueur de publicité, et la page se chargera comme prévu.

ACUicon.png


Jean-François Champollion (23 décembre 1790 – 4 mars 1832), était un érudit français, philologue et orientaliste connu pour avoir su déchiffrer les hiéroglyphes égyptiens

Biographie

Champollion étudia les langues orientales, en particulier l'arabe et le persan, au prestigieux Collège de France. Doué pour les langues, il se lança dans l'apprentissage du copte. Ses talents lui valurent d'être nommé professeur à l'université de Grenoble à dix-huit ans.

Après l'arrivée de la Pierre de Rosette en France grâce aux armées de Napoléon Bonaparte, Champollion eut la chance de se procurer une copie des transcriptions de la pierre de Rosette et émit l'idée que ses hiéroglyphes étaient selon les cas des idéogrammes (représentant des concepts) ou des phonogrammes (des sons). Il parvint à les déchiffrer, révélant ainsi une page inconnue de l'histoire de l'Égypte.

À un moment donné de sa vie, il devint un allié de la Confrérie parisienne des Assassins. Quand il apprit que les Templiers étaient en possession d'un frottis de la Pierre, il avertit les Assassins que ce frottis contenait des informations sensibles sur la Confrérie. Les Templiers divisèrent le frottis en trois morceaux et les dispersèrent dans les Jardins du Luxembourg, où ils furent placés sous bonne garde.

Afin de voler le frottis avant que les Templiers ne puissent le traduire, le Conseil des Assassins envoya Arno Dorian. Connaissant les emplacements des morceaux du frottis, Champollion lui indiqua le chemin, avant de faire diversion pour qu'Arno puisse les récupérer.



Sur le réseau Fandom

Wiki au hasard

Fandom

Assassin's Creed Wiki

Jean-François Champollion

8,228pages on
this wiki
Add New Page
Talk0 Share

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.

Eraicon-Unity

Smallwikipedialogo
PL ConnoisseurHQ Where are the paintings?

This article is in need of more images and/or better quality pictures in order to achieve a higher status. You can help the Assassin's Creed Wiki by uploading better images on this page.

Jean-François Champollion (23 December 1790 – 4 March 1832) was a French scholar, philologist and orientalist as well as the decipherer of the Egyptian hieroglyphs.

BiographyEdit

A student of oriental languages, particularly Arabic and Persian, at the esteemed Collège de France, Champollion showed exemplary linguistic talent and began to learn Coptic. At the young age of eighteen, he was appointed professor of history at the University of Grenoble, due to his proficiency as a scholar.

After the armies of Napoleon Bonaparte took the Rosetta Stone from Egypt, Champollion acquired a copy of the stone's transcripts. He suggested that the hieroglyphs displayed on it consisted of both ideograms, expressing ideas, and phonograms, expressing sounds. Starting in 1820, Champollion eventually deciphered the hieroglyphs, and was able to unveil a previously unknown part of Egyptian history.

At some point, Champollion became an ally of the Parisian Brotherhood of Assassins. When the Templars obtained a rubbed transfer of the missing section of the Rosetta Stone, he warned the Assassins that the rubbing contained sensitive information on the Brotherhood. The Templars split the rubbing into three parts and scattered them around the Luxembourg Gardens, where they were kept under guard.

Intent on stealing the rubbing before the Templars could translate it, the Assassin Council sent Arno Dorian to do so. Knowing the locations of the rubbing parts, Champollion directed Arno to them. While Champollion distracted the Templar guards, the Assassin was able to recover each part of the rubbing.

ReferenceEdit

Also on Fandom

Random Wiki