Fandom

Assassin's Creed

James Wardrop

4 647pages sur
ce wiki
Ajouter une page
Discussion0 Partager

Interférence d'un bloqueur de publicité détectée !


Wikia est un site gratuit qui compte sur les revenus de la publicité. L'expérience des lecteurs utilisant des bloqueurs de publicité est différente

Wikia n'est pas accessible si vous avez fait d'autres modifications. Supprimez les règles personnalisées de votre bloqueur de publicité, et la page se chargera comme prévu.

ACROicon.pngTempliers.png
"Nous forgeons l'ordre au coeur du chaos. Si tout est permis, alors nul n'est à l'abri."
– James à Shay Cormac.[src]

James Wardrop (1705 – 1754) était un marchand, politicien et membre du rite britannique de l'Ordre des Templiers dans les années ayant précédées la Guerre de Sept Ans.

Biographie

Acquérir des terres et des richesses

"C'est l'un des hommes les plus cruels des colonies. Il se sert des textes de loi pour parvenir à ses fins, et lorsque la loi ne va pas dans son sens, il embauche des juristes pour y remédier. Crois-moi, Shay : James Wardrop est un bureaucrate, il se moque bien de la portée de ses actes."
Liam O'Brien décrivant Wardrop, 1754[src]


James Wardrop est né dans les colonies américaines aux environs de 1705, d’une famille de Templiers. Il suivit l’exemple de son père et fut intronisé dans l’Ordre en 1720. Il appartenait à James Wardrop d’accumuler richesses et territoires pour le compte des Templiers. Bien que l’Ordre ne fût pas encore établi officiellement dans les colonies américaines, Wardrop et ses semblables préparaient le terrain, lentement mais sûrement.

En 1744, il commença à tisser un réseau commercial qui devait s’étendre des colonies jusqu’aux Caraïbes. En 1750, il collaborait avec Christopher Gist pour s’approprier des terres. L'Assassin Wolastoqiyik Kesegowaase nota que James Wardrop chassa bon nombre de tribus de leurs terres ancestrales et provoqua de nombreux massacres.

Wardrop œuvra pour que les fragiles colonies américaines restent dans le giron britannique, non sans profiter de sa situation pour s’enrichir. Quand sa position au sein de l'Ordre ne lui permit plus de parvenir à ses fins, il utilisa ses connaissances pour changer cela. Gist nota également que Wardrop "ne tenait pas l'alcool" et que lui et Jack Weeks ne s'entendaient pas vraiment.

Traduction du manuscrit

ACRO Sur invitation 6.png

Weeks, Wardrop et Smith rencontrant Washington

Lors du séisme de 1751 à Port-au-Prince, Lawrence Washington, Maître Templier des Colonies, vola une boîte des Précurseurs et un manuscrit au Mentor François Mackandal. La boîte fut confiée à Samuel Smith, tandis que le manuscrit fut confié à Wardrop qui reçut pour mission de déchiffrer le mystérieux langage dans lequel il était écrit. En juillet 1752, Weeks, Smith et Wardrop rendirent visite à un Lawrence Washington mourant chez lui, à Mount Vernon.

Les Templiers lui promirent de préserver son frère George des affres de la cause, puis James ajouta qu'il était tout proche de comprendre le manuscrit. Après leur départ, Washington fut tué par l'Assassin Shay Cormac qui, trop préoccupé par sa cible, laissa filer les trois autres Templiers.

Mort

"Wardrop: Tu n'as pas idée de ce que tu fais, pauvre fou.
Shay: Je sauve le peuple de votre emprise.
Wardrop: Tu préfères donc voir la France nous forcer à tous courber l'échine ?
"
– Wardrop durant ses derniers instants, 1754[src]


Peu après la mort de Washington, Wardrop prit en main les Templiers des Colonies. Durant le Congrès d'Albany en juillet 1754, Wardrop se trouvait dans la même ville. Craignant pour sa vie après l'assassinat de Smith et le vol de la boîte, il se terrait à Fort Frederick, donnant des instructions à la garnison. Durant le Congrès, son compère Templier William Johnson voulut confier le manuscrit et la boîte à Benjamin Franklin ; ce à quoi Wardrop s'opposa, jugeant les risques trop grands.

ACRO Nous le Peuple 10.png

Wardrop peu avant de mourir.

Restant caché dans le fort, il envoya un capitaine en avertir Johnson, mais ce dernier, furieux d'une telle décision, renvoya l'officier, exigeant que Wardrop lui remette le manuscrit. Shay assista à la scène, et poursuivit le messager avant de le tuer. Puis il infiltra Fort Frederick et assassina Wardrop depuis les airs.

Quand il se saisit du manuscrit, il affirma à sa victime que son acte garderait le peuple de la domination des Templiers. Les colonies étant déjà en proie à une guerre contre les Français, le Templier assura que les Templiers maintenaient l'ordre et empêchaient le peuple de sombrer dans l'anarchie, avant de succomber à ses blessures.

Note

  • En 2015, son nom figurait sur une liste de Templiers britanniques utilisée par Isabelle Ardant.

Galerie


Sur le réseau Fandom

Wiki au hasard

Assassin's Creed Wiki

James Wardrop

8,111pages on
this wiki
Add New Page
Add New Page Talk0

"We bring order from the chaos. If everything is permitted, no one is safe."
―James Wardrop on the Templars in his final moments, 1754.[src]
James Wardrop
By Invitation Only 13
Biographical information

c. 1705
British America


July 1754
Albany, New York, British America

Political information

British Army

Real-world information
Appears in

Assassin's Creed: Rogue

Voice actor

Vincent Hoss-Desmarais

James Wardrop (c. 1705 – 1754) was a merchant, politician, and a member of the British Rite of the Templar Order in the years leading up to the Seven Years' War.

Operating along the Thirteen Colonies, Wardrop was the custodian of the Precursor manuscript, a First Civilization artifact.


Acquiring land and wealthEdit

"He's one of the most devious and ruthless men in the colonies. He uses the letter of the law to serve his purposes, and when the law does not bend to him, he gets lawmakers to bend it for him. Mark my words, Shay: James Wardrop is a bureaucrat, and doesn't care how his actions affect others."
―The Assassin Liam O'Brien describing Wardrop, 1754.[src]

Wardrop was born into a Templar family in the American colonies around 1705. Following in his father's footsteps, he was inducted into the Templar Order in 1720. Wardrop's main role in the Order was to secure land and wealth, slowly and surely building up the foundation for the fledgling Colonial Rite.

In 1744, Wardrop began to build a trade network for the Order that ran from the American colonies to the West Indies. By 1750, he worked with Christopher Gist to acquire North American land for the Order. The Wolastoqiyik Assassin Kesegowaase reported that Wardrop evicted many native tribes from their ancestral lands in doing so, and the Brotherhood held proof that he was responsible for numerous massacres.

Wardrop sought to keep the young colonies loyal to the British Empire, although he was not above using his bureacratic position to acquire profits for himself. When his position did not allow him to achieve his goals, he used his connections to change this. Gist also claimed that Wardrop "could not hold his liquor", and that he had trouble getting along with fellow Templar Jack Weeks.

Translating the manuscriptEdit

By Invitation Only 6

Weeks, Wardrop and Smith meeting with Washington

During the 1751 Port-au-Prince earthquake, Lawrence Washington, Master Templar of the Northern Colonies, stole the Precursor box and manuscript from Assassin Mentor François Mackandal. While the box was entrusted to Samuel Smith, Wardrop was tasked with interpreting the mysterious language of the manuscript. In July 1752, Wardrop, Smith and Weeks met with a dying Washington at his home at Mount Vernon.

After the Templars assured him that his brother George would be kept out of Templar business, Wardrop reported that he was close to discerning the meaning of the manuscript. As they left, Washington was killed by the Assassin Shay Cormac. As the Assassin was preoccupied with Washington's death, Wardrop, Smith and Weeks were able to escape.


Wardrop: "You have no idea what you are doing, fool."
Shay: "Keeping the people free from your control."
Wardrop: "How free will you be when the French undermine these squabbling colonies?"
—Wardrop in his final moments, 1754.[src]

Following the death of Washington, Wardrop was put in charge of the Templars in the colonies. During the Albany Congress in July 1754, Wardrop was present in Albany. Fearful of his life after Smith had been assassinated and the box taken from him, Wardrop hid at Fort Frederick, giving out instructions to the garrison. During the Congress, his fellow Templar William Johnson prepared to hand over the box and manuscript to the scientist Benjamin Franklin; Wardrop refused, however, claiming that the risks in doing so were too strong.

We The People 10

Wardrop's final moments

Remaining at the fort, Wardrop sent a captain to report this to Johnson, but an enraged Johnson sent the captain back with his demands that the former hand over the manuscript. Shay was present at the Congress during this exchange and killed the captain shortly after, before he infiltrated the fort and assassinated Wardrop from above.

As Shay took the manuscript from Wardrop, he claimed that in doing so, he was keeping the people free from the Templars' control. With the colonies already entering the Seven Years' War with France, Wardrop retorted that the Templars maintained order and kept the territories from descending into anarchy, before succumbing to his wounds.


  • His name was on a list of known British Templars used by the Templar Isabelle Ardant in 2015.



Also on Fandom

Random Wiki