Fandom

Assassin's Creed

Hope Jensen

4 641pages sur
ce wiki
Ajouter une page
Discussion0 Share

Interférence d'un bloqueur de publicité détectée !


Wikia est un site gratuit qui compte sur les revenus de la publicité. L'expérience des lecteurs utilisant des bloqueurs de publicité est différente

Wikia n'est pas accessible si vous avez fait d'autres modifications. Supprimez les règles personnalisées de votre bloqueur de publicité, et la page se chargera comme prévu.

Assassins.pngACROicon.png
"Bon Dieu, Hope... Que fais-tu avec ces crapules ? Tu veux retourner la ville contre elle-même ? Que t'est-il arrivé ?"
– Shay Cormac, 1756[src]

Hope Jensen (1732 – 1759) était une membre de la Confrérie des Assassins opérant en Amérique du Nord pendant la Guerre de Sept Ans. Entraînée par le Mentor Achilles Davenport, elle contrôlait l'essentiel du crime organisé de New York, ayant formé un réseau d'informations efficient.

Biographie

Jeunesse

Hope est née à New York d'une famille modeste avant d’être placée à l'orphelinat à la mort de ses parents. Elle fut adoptée par un couple d'Allemands qui aspiraient à une vie nouvelle dans les colonies. C'est cet espoir qui motiva leur choix de prénom : Hope. Des années durant, le père de Hope ne ménagea pas sa peine pour réussir et ses efforts finirent par payer ; ses projets commerciaux l'enrichirent et les Jensen se mêlèrent à la bonne société new-yorkaise. Hélas, malgré leur fortune et les trésors de bonne volonté déployés pour s'intégrer, ils ne furent jamais vraiment acceptés par la fine fleur de New York.

Hope reçut une excellente éducation auprès de précepteurs. Au fil du temps, elle comprit à quel point le monde était injuste. En 1742, le père adoptif de Hope disparut dans des circonstances mystérieuses, pour ne plus jamais reparaître. La même année, les anciens associés de M. Jensen s’approprièrent l'affaire familiale, laissant Hope et sa mère sans le moindre sou. Elles furent dépouillées de tout et jetées à la rue.

La mère de Hope mourut d’une longue et douloureuse maladie, malgré tous les efforts de sa fille pour lui trouver de la nourriture et des médicaments. Hope se jura de ne plus jamais dépendre de qui que ce soit.

Entraînement d'Assassin

"Souviens-toi de ce que je t'ai appris. Sois patient. Sois silencieux. Et ne laisse jamais personne te voir."
– Hope donnant un conseil à Shay après une leçon, 1752[src]
ACRO Leçons et révélations mémoire.png

Shay, Hope et Liam avant un entraînement

En 1746, Hope rencontra Achilles, qui fut passablement impressionné par sa farouche volonté de survivre et ses talents d’escamoteuse. Elle fut intronisée dans la Confrérie un an plus tard. Achilles lui ordonna de monter un réseau à New York, et elle eut tôt fait de contrôler l’essentiel du crime organisé new-yorkais, ses bandes prenant possession des quartiers un à un. Elle y possédait également son propre manoir, qui lui servait de base d'opérations.

Grâce à son expérience, elle fut également l'un des instructeurs de Shay Cormac, lui enseignant diverses techniques d'assassinat et de furtivité. Elle le jugeait cependant comme un élève turbulent, du fait de sa nature retardataire et son manque de discipline, ce qu'elle regretta comme un manque d'exploitation de son potentiel.

La Boîte des Précurseurs et le Manuscrit

Obtention des artefacts

ACRO Sur invitation 1.png

Hope et les autres partageant leurs résultats.

En mars 1752, les Assassins américains apprirent que les Templiers étaient parvenus à voler deux puissants artefacts lors d'un séisme à Port-au-Prince. Tous les Assassins, Hope comprise, focalisèrent leurs efforts pour retrouver les reliques perdues. Si elle réussit à apprendre que les Templiers avaient demandé de l'aide aux plus grands esprits de New York, dans une tentative d'en savoir plus sur les mécanisme de la Première Civilisation, elle ne put malheureusement pas les localiser.

Après la mort du Maître Templier Lawrence Washington aux mains de Shay en juillet, Hope et les autres tournèrent leur attention vers Samuel Smith et James Wardrop, qui avaient respectivement la Boîte et le Manuscrit en leur possession. Après l'assassinat de Smith en mai 1754, Hope apprit que Wardrop assisterait au Congrès d'Albany. Là, elle retrouva Shay et Liam, acceptant de faire diversion avec ce dernier tandis que le premier prenait Wardrop en chasse.

Le Manuscrit et la Boîte en leur possession, Hope et Shay cherchèrent à obtenir l'aide de Benjamin Franklin, espérant que le savant pourrait activer l'artefact. Feignant d'être des associés du Templier William Johnson, les deux apprirent qu'on avait confisqué les paratonnerres de Franklin. Pendant que Shay allait les récupérer, Hope resta avec l'inventeur, qui effectuait les préparatifs de l'expérience, qu'il détailla à l'Assassine.

ACRO Fiat Lux 7.png

Shay et Hope examinant la carte révélée par le Manuscrit.

Au retour de Shay, Franklin mena son invention, utilisant les paratonnerres pour rediriger l'électricité sur la Boîte des Précurseurs. Quand le troisième éclair frappa, l'artefact s'activa, montrant brièvement une carte révélant les emplacements de site des Précurseurs. Shay reconnut l'un des endroits avec certitude, avant de quitter les lieux, tandis que Hope se fit passer pour la gouvernante de Franklin afin de ne pas éveiller les soupçons des gardes qui arrivaient.

Conséquences du tremblement de terre de Lisbonne

"Hope: Personne ne peut déclencher un séisme.
Shay: On le peut en activant les machines des Précurseurs. Tu as vu la boîte, Hope. Le temple était comme animé d'un pouvoir similaire.
"
– Shay se disputant avec Hope à son retour de Lisbonne, 1756[src]

Malheureusement, les efforts de Shay pour acquérir le fragment d'Éden déclenchèrent un terrible séisme qui affecta la ville entière, causant la mort de plusieurs milliers de personnes. Rongé par la culpabilité et remonté contre Achilles, il se disputa véhémentement avec son Mentor, qui se trouvait en discussion avec Hope à son retour. Elle défendit son Mentor face aux accusations de son élève et, aidée de Liam, le fit quitter la pièce. Leur refus d'écouter finit d'achever Shay que les Assassins ne devaient plus trouver de sites Précurseurs, ce qui l'amena à voler le manuscrit.

ACRO Libre-arbitre 13.png

Hope essayant de raisonner Shay.

Achilles prit Shay sur le fait, et ordonna aux Assassins, parmi lesquels Hope, de capturer le déserteur et de récupérer l'artefact. Elle tenta d'arrêter la progression de Shay en jetant des bombes fumigènes sur son chemin, tout en remettant en question son raisonnement, mais ne parvint pas à le dissuader. Elle et les Assassins finirent par acculer Shay au bord d'une falaise surplombant la baie, où Hope essaya à maintes reprises de convaincre son ancien élève de restituer le Manuscrit aux Assassins.

Shay refusa cependant d'entendre raison, clamant qu'il ne voulait plus jamais qu'un tel désastre ne se reproduise, et s'apprêta à sauter. Le Chevalier de la Vérendrye lui tira alors dessus, mais manqua son coup et Shay tomba dans l'eau avant d'être emporté par la marée. Les Assassins le pensèrent mort et le manuscrit perdu.

Production d'armes

"Les bandits que nous avons arrêtés sont dirigés par une femme terrible. Elle me semble être à l'origine de ces sinistres desseins."
– George Monro sur les activités de Hope, 1756[src]


Après les événements du Domaine, Hope continua ses travaux avec Franklin, cette fois toute seule. Elle lui demanda de produire de l'équipement qui pourrait être utilisée conjointement avec les réserves de gaz toxiques des Assassins, qui étaient fournies par Le Chasseur. Parmi les armes dont il reçut la commande, Franklin fabriqua un prototype de Lance grenades, même si cette arme en particulier atterrit dans les mains des Templiers quand Franklin la confia à Shay, qu'il croyait toujours être dans le même camp que Hope.

Croyant qu'Hope allait utiliser les gaz toxiques sur la population innocente de New York, les Templiers chargèrent Shay de détruire une usine contenant un grand stock de gaz, sabotant ainsi les activités des Assassins. Il travailla également à affaiblir la présence des bandes de Hope à New York pour les années suivantes.

Mort

"Shay: Hope, je n'ai jamais voulu ça.
Hope: Je t'ai FORMÉ pour ça. Tu ne m'as pas déçue.
"
– Les derniers mots de Shay, 1759[src]


En novembre 1757, Liam parvint à récupérer le Manuscrit au Templier George Monro après l'avoir tué, permettant aux Assassins de reprendre leurs recherches sur le Manuscrit. Pendant longtemps, cependant, les Assassins furent incapables de reproduire l'expérience de Franklin, les empêchant ainsi de déterminer une localisation exacte et organiser une expédition.

ACRO Caresse de l'acier 3.png

Hope et Liam avec la Boîte

En octobre 1759, Hope avait trouvé un moyen d'activer la Boîte des Précurseurs et ainsi localiser un autre temple des Précurseurs. Alors qu'elle effectuait l'expérience dans son manoir, l'Armée britannique, manipulée par les Templiers, lança une attaque sur sa propriété afin d'éradiquer l'influence des bandes sur la ville. Impassible, Hope activa l'artefact et indiqua l'emplacement du temple à Liam, qui partit le trouver.

Immédiatement après, elle tira sur le plafond vitré par lequel Shay l'avait espionné, à tomber dans l'entrepôt. Hope enfila ensuite son masque à gaz, but un antidote et activa un mécanisme qui fit se remplir la salle d'un gaz toxique. Pensant que Shay mourrait à l'intérieur, elle fut surprise en le voyant peu de temps après sur le balcon de l'entropôt.

ACRO Caresse de l'acier 10.png

La mort de Hope

Le félicitant pour son endurance et son opiniâtreté, Hope lui lança une fléchette empoisonnée, ce qui n'empêcha pas Shay de la poursuivre. Elle essaya de le ralentir en semant des bombes fumigènes, espérant que le poison ne tuerait Shay avant qu'il ne puisse la rattraper. Cependant, après une longue course sur les toits de New York, Shay poignarda Hope à l'abdomen, la blessant mortellement.

Ayant prit l'antidote sur elle, Shay se soigna en le buvant, avant d'exprimer des regrets d'avoir eu à la tuer. Hope balaya ces mots en lui disant simplement qu'elle lui avait enseigné à tuer et lui révéla qu'elle passait la plupart de son temps à organiser des expéditions pour les Assassins. Elle se lamenta pour le potentiel gâché de Shay, avant de succomber à ses blessures ; Liam découvrit son cadavre quelque temps plus tard.

Personnalité et caractéristiques

"Hope: Il était temps que tu arrives.
Shay: Je m'en voudrais de faire attendre une dame.
Hope: Ici, je n'ai rien d'une dame, ne l'oublie pas ! Je suis là pour t'instruire... Je suis meilleure que toi.
Shay: J'espère que tu as raison, au moins en partie.
"
– Hope et Shay, 1752


Hope, malgré son jeune âge, était très responsable de ses actes et puissante. C'était une Assassin dévouée et très patiente avec ses élèves, les entraînant minutieusement, mais parvenant toutefois à tisser des liens avec eux. Elle utilisait souvent l'humour.

Mais elle avait aussi une face sombre ; elle était perfide, rusée et calculatrice, capable d'établir un très bon plan en une très courte période de temps et de l'appliquer avec une redoutable efficacité.

Équipement et capacités

Depuis son jeune âge, Hope vécut dans les rues et fut contrainte de voler. Elle était si douée pour cette discipline qu'Achilles en fut très impressionné. Hope s'avéra être une Assassin très douée, à tel point qu'elle devint l'une des instructeurs, enseignant aux apprentis le maniement de l'épée. Elle était également douée en course libre et était capable d'effectuer le traditionnel Saut de la foi.

En termes d'équipement, Hope possédait au moins une Lame secrète, des bombes fumigènes, une paire d'épées et de pistolets flintocks, ainsi que des fléchettes empoisonnées.

Note

  • "Hope" signifie "espoir" en Anglais. "Jens" est un patronyme scandinave signifiant "fils de Jens".

Galerie


Sur le réseau Fandom

Wiki au hasard

Wikia

Assassin's Creed Wiki

Hope Jensen

8,083pages on
this wiki
Talk0
Eraicon-RogueEraicon-Assassins

"God, Hope... What are you doing with these felons? Turning the city against itself? What have you become?"
―Shay Cormac, 1756.[src]
Hope Jensen
HopeJensen
Biographical information
Born

1732
New York City, New York, British America

Died

October 1759
New York City, New York, British America

Political information
Affiliations

Assassins (1746 – death)

Real-world information
Appears in

Assassin's Creed: Rogue

Voice actor

Patricia Summersett

Hope Jensen (1732 – 1759) was a member of the Assassin Order operating in North America during the Seven Years' War. Mentored by Achilles Davenport, she controlled much of New York's organized crime, providing her with an effective information network.

BiographyEdit

Early lifeEdit

Born in New York to a modest family, Hope was placed in an orphanage after the death of her parents. She was subsequently adopted by a German couple, who hoped to build a new life for themselves in the colonies. They symbolized this desire by naming their newly-adopted daughter Hope. Although it took several years, the Jensens eventually grew wealthy, the business endeavors of Hope's father turning great profits, and began to mix with New York's finer circles. However, despite their best efforts to fit in, they were never truly accepted by the city's elite.

Growing up, Hope was taught by private tutors and gradually realized the injustice rampant in the world. In 1742, her father disappeared under mysterious circumstances and was never found again, following which her father's former business partners took control of the family business. Left with nothing, Hope and her mother were forced to live on the streets.

Eventually, Hope's mother fell ill, her health slowly deteriorating, despite her daughter's best efforts at stealing food and medicines. With the passing of her mother, Hope hardened, vowing never to depend on anyone again.

Assassin trainingEdit

"Remember what I taught you. Be patient. Be silent. Never let them see you coming."
―Hope offering advice to Shay after one of her lessons, 1752.[src]
Lessons and Revelations memory

Shay, Liam and Hope before practice

In 1746, Hope met Achilles Davenport, who was impressed by her survival instincts, pickpocketing skills and strength of will. She was officially inducted into the Assassin Brotherhood a year later. Tasked with setting up a network in New York, Hope soon controlled most of the city's organized crime, with her gangs taking control of each district. She also possessed her own mansion, which served as her base of operations.

Due to her experience, she also served as one of Shay Cormac's instructors, tutoring him in various assassination and stealth techniques. However, she found him to be a troublesome student, largely due to his frequent tardiness and lack of discipline, which she felt prevented him from achieving his full potential.

Precursor Box and ManuscriptEdit

Procuring the artifactsEdit

By Invitation Only 1

Hope and the others sharing their findings

In March 1752, news reached the Colonial Brotherhood that the Templars had stolen two valuable Pieces of Eden during an earthquake in Haiti. Like her compatriots, Hope focused her efforts on locating these lost relics. While she discovered that the Templars had consulted many learned people in New York, in an attempt to understand the purpose of the First Civilization artifacts, she was unable to find out where they were.

After Shay eliminated high-ranking Templar Lawrence Washington in July, Hope and the others turned their attention to Samuel Smith and James Wardrop, who respectively had the Precursor box and Manuscript in their possession. Following the assassination of Smith in May 1754, Hope learned that Wardrop would be at a congress in Albany. There, she met up with Shay and Liam, agreeing to serve as back-up with the latter while the former pursued Wardrop.

With the Precursor box and Manuscript retrieved, Hope and Shay sought to secure Benjamin Franklin's assistance, hoping that he could activate the artifact. Pretending to be associates of the Templar William Johnson, the pair learned that Franklin was unable to carry out his experiment, as his lightning rods had been confiscated. While Shay went to retrieve the rods, Hope stayed with Franklin to help prepare.

Fiat Lux 7

Shay and Hope examining the map projected by the Precursor box

Following Shay's return, Franklin conducted his experiment, using the lightning rods to direct electricity into the Precursor box. Upon a third lightning strike, the artifact activated, briefly projecting a map that revealed the locations of several Precursor sites. Shay recognized one of the places shown, before fleeing the scene, while Hope masqueraded as Franklin's housekeeper to avoid suspicion from the soon-to-arrive guards.

Later, Hope and Shay reunited at the Assassin bureau in Two Bends to discuss the information learned with Achilles. Due to his knowledge of the site, which was located in Lisbon, Shay was tasked with the retrieval of the Piece of Eden. As the Morrigan was unfit for crossing the Atlantic Ocean, Hope kept the ship safe in New York while her student was away.

Lisbon earthquake falloutEdit

Hope: "Shay, a person cannot start an earthquake."
Shay: "A person meddling with these Precursor machines could. You saw the Box, Hope. The Temple was filled to bursting with that kind of power."
―Shay arguing with Hope upon his return from Lisbon.[src]

However, Shay's efforts to acquire the Piece of Eden ended up triggering a massive earthquake that leveled nearly the entire city, causing thousands of people to lose their lives. Guilt-ridden and blaming Achilles, he lashed out at his Mentor, with whom Hope sided, upon his return. She defended her Mentor against her student's accusations and, together with Liam, forced him out of the room. Their refusal to hear him out only fueled Shay's belief that the Assassins could not find any more Precursor sites, leading him to steal the Manuscript.

Freewill 13

Hope trying to reason with Shay

Achilles discovered Shay and ordered his Assassins, Hope among them, to catch the deserter and retrieve the stolen artifact. She subsequently attempted to halt Shay's escape by throwing smoke bombs in his path, all the while questioning his reasoning, but did not succeed in deterring him. She and her fellow Assassins eventually cornered Shay at a cliff overlooking the bay, where Hope once more tried to convince her former student to return the Manuscript.

However, Shay refused to listen, claiming he could not allow such a disaster again, and prepared to walk off the edge. Chevalier de la Vérendrye then shot Shay in an attempt to stop him, but failed, with Shay plunging into the bay and subsequently being carried out by the tide; the Assassins assumed him dead and the Manuscript destroyed.

Weapons productionEdit

"The ruffians we have arrested refer to an intimidating woman. I believe she is behind these nefarious plans."
―George Monro on Hope's activities, 1756.[src]

Following the events at the Homestead, Hope continued her work with Franklin alone. She had him produce equipment for her that could be used in conjunction with the Assassins' poison gas reserves, which were supplied by Le Chasseur. Among the weaponry commissioned was the prototype of a grenade launcher, though this particular weapon ended up in the hands of the Templars when Franklin handed it over to Shay, unaware of the latter's switch in allegiance.

Believing Hope would use the poisonous gas on the innocent populace of New York, the Templars sent Shay to destroy a factory that housed a large supply of it, further sabotaging the Assassin's activities. He also worked to weaken the presence of Hope's gangs throughout the years.

DeathEdit

Shay: "Hope, I didn't want to do this."
Hope: "I trained you to do this. I expected nothing less."
―Hope to Shay in her final moments, 1759.[src]

In November 1757, Liam managed to steal back the lost Manuscript from the Templar George Monro, allowing the Assassins to continue their search for the Precursor temples. For a long time, however, they were unable to replicate Franklin's original experiment, preventing them from determining an exact location and organizing an expedition.

Caress of Steel 3

Hope and Liam with the activated Precursor box

By October 1759, Hope had figured out a way to activate the Precursor Box once more and find the location of another Temple. While she set up the experiment inside her warehouse, the British Army, having been manipulated by the Templars, launched an attack on her mansion with the intent of eradicating the gangs' influence. Unfazed, Hope managed to activate the artifact and give Liam the location of a Temple, before sending him on his way.

Immediately afterwards, she shot out the skylight, causing Shay, who had been spying on her, to fall down into the warehouse. Hope then took his gas mask, drank an antidote and activated a mechanism, causing the chamber to slowly fill with toxic gasses. Leaving Shay to die inside, she was surprised when soon after, he appeared on the warehouse's balcony.

Caress of Steel 10

Hope's final moments

Complimenting him on his endurance, Hope then flung a poison dart at him, before departing once again, though Shay nevertheless continued to pursue her. She attempted to deter him by using various smoke bombs, hoping the poison would run its course before he could catch up to her. However, after a lengthy chase across New York, Shay managed to stab Hope in the abdomen, mortally wounding her.

Having taken her antidote, Shay cured himself of Hope's poison, before expressing remorse at having to kill her. Hope dismissed these words and revealed she had merely been buying time for the Assassins' expedition. She lamented Shay's wasted potential, before succumbing to her wounds; her body would later be found by Liam.

Personality and characteristicsEdit

Hope: "It's about time you showed up."
Shay: "Far be it from me to keep a lady waiting."
Hope: "I'm no lady here, don't you forget it! I'm your teacher... and your better."
Shay: "Well some of that is true, at least."
—Hope and Shay batering with each other before training, 1752.[src]

Hope appeared to be responsible and extremely powerful for her young age. Although she was an Assassin trainer and practically above her students, her behavior was friendly and welcoming towards her pupils. She also had good humor which added a bright side to her personality.

However, she could also be cunning, shrewd, and calculating, able to formulate an efficient plan in a brief period of time and apply it with efficiency.

Equipment and skillsEdit

From an early age, Hope lived on the streets and was forced to pickpocket. She was so good that she impressed Achilles with her skill. Hope proved to be a skilled Assassin, and later on she began to tutor recruits in stealth and swordsmanship. She was also a skilled freerunner and capable of performing a Leap of Faith.

In terms of equipment, Hope was armed with at least one Hidden Blade, smoke bombs, a sword and a pair of flintlock pistols. As well as this she appeared to have some kind of a poison dart.

TriviaEdit

  • Jensen is a patronymic surname of Scandinavian origins meaning "son of Jens".

GalleryEdit

ReferenceEdit

Around Wikia's network

Random Wiki