Fandom

Assassin's Creed

Carlos Dominguez

4 641pages sur
ce wiki
Ajouter une page
Discussion0 Share

Interférence d'un bloqueur de publicité détectée !


Wikia est un site gratuit qui compte sur les revenus de la publicité. L'expérience des lecteurs utilisant des bloqueurs de publicité est différente

Wikia n'est pas accessible si vous avez fait d'autres modifications. Supprimez les règles personnalisées de votre bloqueur de publicité, et la page se chargera comme prévu.

ACLicon.png
"Je vous en supplie, ayez pitié. Je vais me ranger. Je ferai une croix sur la bière et le tord-boyaux. Je ne courrai plus les jupons. J'irai à l'église ! Par pitié, abandonnez-moi à mon triste avenir de moine."
– Dominguez suppliant Aveline de l'épargner, 1768[src]

Carlos Dominguez (Années 1730 – 1803) était un capitaine de navire espagnol vivant à La Nouvelle-Orléans à la fin du XVIIIe siècle.

Embauché par le Templier Rafael Joaquín de Ferrer, Dominguez transportait des marchandises dans et hors de la Nouvelle-Orléans, ce qui lui octroyait une petite fortune. C’est pour cette raison qu’il était souvent ivre car il dépensait tous son argent dans l'alcool.

En 2012, ses souvenirs génétiques furent utilisés comme avatar par la branche vidéoludique d’Abstergo Industries, dans le multijoueur de leur jeu Liberation.


Biographie

Jeunesse

Né en Espagne durant les années 1730, Dominguez grandit dans une famille aux revenus modestes. Choisissant la carrière maritime dès qu'il en eut l'occasion, il travailla dur et finit par devenir capitaine de son propre navire. Cependant, l'opportunisme de Dominguez l'amenait souvent à accepter de l'argent de n'importe qui ; argent la plupart du temps dépensé dans des tavernes.

Allié des Templiers

"Il me paye pour convoyer des marchandises depuis la Nouvelle-Orléans. C'est tout ce que je fais : naviguer pour de l'argent. Je vogue. On me paye."
– Dominguez parlant de ses relations avec De Ferrer, 1768[src]

Dans les années 1760, Carlos fut embauché par Rafael Joaquín de Ferrer, un membre de l'Ordre des Templiers, pour convoyer des marchandises à et depuis La Nouvelle-Orléans. Début 1765, il commença à rediriger les marchandises destinées à Gilbert-Antoine de Saint Maxent, faisant souffrir l'affaire des de Grandpré. Les de Grandpré décidèrent donc de diligenter une enquête pour en apprendre plus sur ces machinations, et Dominguez et son équipage devinrent des suspects.

Le 29 janvier, Carlos rencontra l'Assassin Aveline de Grandpré, qui était venue pour en savoir plus sur les marchandises manquantes. Charmé par la beauté de la jeune femme et son apparence noble, il lui assura que les marchandises avaient été remises à leur "destinataire légitime", après quoi il commença à lui verser une tasse pour la courtiser. Mais au moment où il se tourna pour la lui servir, Aveline était déjà partie, ayant au passage embarqué les registres indiquant les emplacements des marchandises.

Malgré cette petite défaite, Dominguez continua le travail qui lui avait été confié par De Ferrer. En 1768, il fut traqué par Aveline, qui avait découvert ses liens avec les Templiers et désirait connaître leurs desseins pour la Nouvelle-Orléans. Mais la discrétion de De Ferrer et l'ivresse de Dominguez l'empêchèrent d'en apprendre beaucoup plus. Après un interrogatoire infructueux, elle partit et laissa le capitaine dessoûler tout seul.

ACL Attirer l'attention d'Ulloa 4.png

Carlos reconnaissant Aveline

Leurs chemins se recroisèrent, plus tard la même année, quand Aveline aborda le navire de Dominguez avec pour objectif de le détruire, espèrant que cela ferait sortir le gouverneur Antonio de Ulloa de La Balise. Le capitaine se glissa furtivement jusqu'à l'Assassin tandis qu'elle préparait les explosifs, puis la reconnut, et, terrifié, envoya ses hommes s'occuper d'elle.

Après l'avoir vu se débarrasser des gardes, Dominguez implora immédiatement sa pitié, affirmant qu'il se rangerait. Aveline le réprimanda sévèrement, mais décida de lui laisser la vie. Les deux quittèrent les navires avant qu'il n'explosent. La destruction de son navire mit fin à l'alliance entre Dominguez et les Templiers.

Coopération avec Aveline

"Aveline: J'ai récupéré le bateau de ce bandit. Il est à vous maintenant.
Dominguez: Oh, merci ! Merci !
Aveline: Vous êtes désormais sous ma protection. Vous paierez ce privilège en travaillant pour moi.
"
– Dominguez étant recruté par Aveline, 1771[src]
ACL Mistress and Commander 1.png

Dominguez et Aveline sur les quais.

Trois ans plus tard, Carlos recroisa Aveline sur les quais, le capitaine en colère l'accusant de tous les affres qu'il subissait depuis trois ans. Au fil de la discussion, il révéla à Aveline qu'il avait prêté de l'argent à un commerçant, quand il était riche, mais que celui-ci avait refusé de le lui rendre. Aveline accepta de s'occuper du problème, mais exigea de lui qu'il se rende utile par la suite.

Parvenant à acquérir un nouveau navire grâce à Aveline, Dominguez débuta alors une coopération avec les Assassins, changeant de caractère grâce à elle. Il conta alors les exploits d'Aveline en escalade et en course, ce qui valut à la belle d'être défiée quelques temps plus tard. Dominguez leur fut utile jusqu'en 1803, où il disparut en mer.

Notes

  • "Carlos" est la variante espagnole du nom "Charles", lui même dérivé d'un mot allemand ancien signifiant "homme libre". Dominguez est la forme patronymique du prénom Domingo, qui tire son origine du latin Dominicus, "qui appartient à Dieu", dominus, "Dieu, maître", ou dies dominica, "jour de Dieu".
  • Lors de la mémoire "À la taverne, il peut être entendu en train de chanter "Spanish ladies", même s'il remplace "les filles espagnoles" par "les filles de Paris", peut-être à cause de son ivresse. Cette chanson apparaît également dans Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag en tant que chant de marins.
  • Comme pour d'autres personnages apparaissant dans Liberation, d'Abstergo Entertainment, son entrée de base de données omet tout lien entre Dominguez et l'Ordre des Templiers, en le couvrant de qualités.
  • Dans les fichiers internes du jeu, il est appelé "Diego Domingues".

Galerie



Sur le réseau Fandom

Wiki au hasard

Fandom

Assassin's Creed Wiki

Carlos Dominguez

8,226pages on
this wiki
Add New Page
Talk0 Share

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.

Eraicon-Liberation

"Please, please, have mercy. I'll trouble you no further. I'll give up ale and ragwater. I'll mutton-monger no more. I'll go to church! Please, leave me now to my sad, monkish end."
―Dominguez groveling before Aveline, 1768.[src]
Carlos Dominguez
DominguesDatabaseHD
Biographical information
Born

1730s
Kingdom of Spain

Died

1803
Atlantic Ocean

Political information
Affiliations

Templars (c. 1765 – 1768)
Assassins (1768 – death)

Real-world information
Appears in

Assassin's Creed III: Liberation

Voice actor

Marcel Jeannin

Carlos Dominguez (1730s – 1803) was a Spanish ship captain, who was active in New Orleans during the late 18th century.

Hired by the Templar Rafael Joaquín de Ferrer, Dominguez transported goods in and out of the city, earning him a small fortune from his employers. He was often drunk as a result of spending the money earned on alcohol.

In 2012, his genetic memories were used as an Animi Avatar by the entertainment branch of the Templar company Abstergo Industries, as part of their geosimulation workspace on the portable version of the Animus console, under the title of the Captain.

BiographyEdit

Early lifeEdit

Born in Spain in the 1730s, Dominguez grew up in a family of modest means. Becoming a sailor at the first opportunity, he worked hard and soon came to captain his own ship. However, Dominguez's opportunism led him to accept work from anybody willing to pay, with most of the earnings being spent on frequenting taverns.

Serving the TemplarsEdit

"He pays for transport to and from New Orleans. That's all I do– transport the things and get paid."
―Dominguez explaining his dealings with de Ferrer, 1768.[src]

At some point, Dominguez was employed by Rafael Joaquín de Ferrer, a Templar, to transport goods to and from the city of New Orleans. In early 1765, he began redirecting shipments meant for Gilbert-Antoine de Saint Maxent, causing the de Grandpré shipping business to suffer. In response, the de Grandpré family decided to set up an investigation into the matter, with Dominguez and his crew being seen as suspects.

On the 29th of January, Dominguez was met by the Assassin Aveline de Grandpré, who had come to find out more information about the missing shipments. Although charmed by her good looks and noble appearance, he assured her the cargo was sent to the "intended recipient", following which he began pouring her a drink in an effort to woo her. However, by the time Dominguez was ready, Aveline had already left the ship, having stolen paperwork that detailed the goods' location.

Despite this minor setback, Dominguez continued the job he had been given by de Ferrer. In 1768, he was tracked down by Aveline, who had discovered his connection to the Templar and desired to uncover his plans for New Orleans. However, de Ferrer's secrecy and Dominguez's drunken state prevented her from finding out much new information, following which she swiftly departed, leaving the inebriated captain by himself.

Getting Ulloa's Attention 3

Dominguez recognizing Aveline

The two would meet again that same year, when Aveline boarded Dominguez's ship and intended to destroy it, hoping that it would lure governor Antonio de Ulloa out of La Balize. The captain attempted to sneak up on the Assassin while she was preparing the explosives, but grew frightened upon recognizing her, sending his guards after her instead.

After witnessing Aveline defeat his soldiers, Dominguez immediately pleaded for mercy, claiming he would change his ways. She harshly reprimanded him, but chose to leave him to his own devices; both would subsequently make it off the ship before it was destroyed by Aveline's explosives. With his vessel ruined, Dominguez's position as servant to the Templar Order came to an end.

Working for AvelineEdit

Aveline: "I have retrieved the man's ship. You may use it now."
Dominguez: "Oh! Thank you! Thank you!"
Aveline: "Now you are in my protection. You will repay this kindness by working for me."
—Dominguez being recruited by Aveline, 1768.[src]
Mistress and Commander 1

Dominguez and Aveline at the docks

Later that year, Dominguez and Aveline met at the docks, with the former captain angrily blaming her for all the misfortune in his life. After some prompting, he revealed that he had loaned a trader money, with the man then becoming rich, but refusing to pay back the sum he still owed Dominguez. Aveline offered to take care of the problem, though she stipulated he would have to make himself useful in return.

Becoming the owner of a new ship with Aveline's help, Dominguez subsequently began working for the Assassin, reforming under her supervision. He eventually began telling tales of Aveline's climbing skills, leading her to be challenged to a race a few years later. Dominguez would remain productive until 1803, when he was reported missing at sea.

TriviaEdit

  • Carlos is a Spanish variant of the name Charles, itself derived from a Common Germanic noun meaning "free man". Dominguez is a patronymic form of the male given name Domingo, the origin of which is either the Latin Dominicus, "belonging to the Lord", dominus, "lord, master", or dies dominica, "day of the Lord".
  • During the "At the Pub" memory, Dominguez can be heard singing a few lines from "Spanish Ladies", though he substitutes "fair Spanish ladies" with "best Paris ladies", possibly due to inebriation. Said song also appears in Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag as a sea shanty.
  • Like other individuals appearing in Abstergo Entertainment's Liberation product, Dominguez's database entry was edited to omit any reference to the Templars, and also covered up his less exemplary qualities.
  • In the internal files of Assassin's Creed III: Liberation, he is named "Diego Domingues".

GalleryEdit

ReferenceEdit

Also on Fandom

Random Wiki