FANDOM


Eraicon-AC4Eraicon-ACPEra-ACiEraicon-Templars

Smallwikipedialogo
“我们眼前曾有一个难得的机会:从头开始,塑造一个由有识之士来打造和维持的政府。但我们在这两年里浪费了这个机会……我不会再犯这样的错误。”
——本杰明·霍尼戈尔德就拿骚的失败,对查尔斯·韦恩说,1718年。[来源]
本杰明·霍尼戈尔德
Benjamin Hornigold
生平信息
生于

17世纪80年代
诺福克郡英格兰王国

死于

1719年9月
Santanillas, 西印度群岛

政治信息
隶属

海盗共和国(1713 – 1718)
本杰明号 船员
圣殿骑士(1718 – 死亡)[1]
皇家海军

真实世界信息
出现于

刺客信条IV:黑旗
刺客信条:海盗

配音演员

Ed Stoppard

本杰明·霍尼戈尔德(Benjamin Hornigold)(17世纪80年代 – 1719年)在1715至1718年期间是一名英国海盗,也成为了圣殿骑士的一员。他最著名的事迹是教导了黑胡子爱德华·萨奇,并成为拿骚海盗共和国的创建者之一。

生平编辑

早年编辑

霍尼戈尔德于17世纪80年代生于英格兰,他在某个时候越过大洋,来到西印度群岛成为私掠者。他已知最早的海盗活动发生在1713-1714年的冬季,当时他用多艘小划艇和一艘单桅帆船袭击船只和巴哈马群岛的定居点。最终,他俘虏了一艘三十门火炮的双桅横帆船,并将其命名为游侠号。这艘船最后被霍尼戈尔德交给了他的海盗同伙查尔斯·韦恩[2]

在霍尼戈尔德当海盗的第一年,他的副手是前私掠者爱德华·萨奇。很快他们的舰队扩展到了五艘战船,由旗舰本杰明号 带领,在拿骚到洪都拉斯海岸的每一处地点进行劫掠活动。

不过,霍尼戈尔德并不攻击英国船只,这使得有些人相信他实际上是一位私掠者而非海盗。在此期间他遇到了爱德华·肯维,后者是在萨奇在他们的私掠者生涯中招募的。

海盗共和国领袖编辑

“天哪,别做梦了,伙计。拿骚才是你该待的地方,英格兰不是。”
——霍尼戈尔德劝说爱德华留在拿骚。[来源]

最终,霍尼戈尔德帮助在拿骚建立了名为“海岸兄弟会”的海盗共和国,与萨奇、韦恩和詹姆斯·基德分担责任,共享领导权。当肯维在1715年来到拿骚时,霍尼戈尔德教授他如何劫掠船只、升级寒鸦号,以及降低通缉度。霍尼戈尔德还试图劝说爱德华放弃他分居的妻子卡罗琳·斯科特,在拿骚定居。

1716 年七月,身为船长的霍尼戈尔德被免职了,而刺客山谬·贝勒米接替他成为了海盗领袖。海盜阿朗佐·巴提拉将霍尼戈尔德流放,将他带到一座自由海盜的岛屿。在那里,霍尼戈尔德告诉阿朗佐关于拿骚的事情,并坚持要他参观那个地方。[1]

接下来的三年里,有消息传到拿骚,据说伍兹·罗杰斯总督将向所有愿意投降的海盗提供赦免。霍尼戈尔德记着这个赦免的机会,因为此时拿骚疫病肆虐,却缺少可行的治疗手段。

萨奇想要从英国战船上偷取药品,霍尼戈尔德却建议他们暂时停止海盗活动,直到英国人不再将他们视为威胁。这个分歧引起了两人的争吵,后来肯维提出了第三种解决方案:在旧船残骸里寻找药品,避免引起英国人的注意。 

Devil's Advocate 2

霍尼戈尔德在本杰明号

虽然霍尼戈尔德和萨奇最初都对这个方法感到满意,但肯维很快发现,在船只残骸里找到的药品根本不能使用。萨奇不满于他们的失败,用安妮女王复仇号 攻击了一艘英国风帆战舰,导致霍尼戈尔德的船受损。在他的船员修船时,霍尼戈尔德遇见了肯维,并告诉了他萨奇的决定。肯维扬帆离开去寻找萨奇,但霍尼戈尔德告诉他别管萨奇了,这个男人该为自己的行动负责。

尽管肯维和萨奇最终从殖民地获得了药品,但英国人还是在几个月后抵达并封锁了拿骚。在与伍兹·罗杰斯和彼得·张伯伦准将会面探讨国王的赦免后,霍尼戈尔德、乔赛亚·伯吉斯约翰·科克拉姆接受了提议,成为了英国人的海盗猎人,受命将他们从前的盟友们绳之以法。

加入圣殿骑士编辑

爱德华:“你不得好死,叛徒!你出卖了我们!
霍尼戈尔德:“因为我发现了一条更好的路!圣殿骑士明白何谓秩序、法则、制度,但你从来不曾理解其中的奥妙。
——霍尼戈尔德与肯维的对话,关于圣殿骑士的事业,1719年。[来源]

成为新任海盗猎人之后,霍尼戈尔德逮捕了许多拒绝接受赦免令的海盗,变得比从前更加臭名昭著。在罗杰斯的威权下,霍尼戈尔德越来越敬畏他的上司,很快和伯吉斯、科克拉姆一道加入了圣殿骑士团。

1717年12月,霍尼戈尔德航行到马亚瓜纳去参加一场圣殿骑士集会,寻找关于奥利佛·莱维塞尔的行踪——据说这个法国海盗拥有一块伊甸碎片。在路途中,他却不意遇到了阿朗佐·巴提拉,霍尼戈尔德认为这个年轻的海盗将会是圣殿骑士潜在的敌人,便将之诱入一个陷阱,借以摆脱了他。在圣殿骑士集会上,霍尼戈尔德和克里斯托弗·康登特审问了巴恩斯队长,巴恩斯没有说出任何关于莱维塞尔的有用信息,随即被康登特射杀。阿朗佐·巴提拉在这时突然出现,与霍尼戈尔德展开战斗,最终击退了他。[1]

Imagine My Surprise 5

托雷斯、霍尼戈尔德和罗杰斯在金士顿

1719年,霍尼戈尔德和罗杰斯在金士顿会面,霍尼戈尔德询问为何要收集血瓶,以及罗杰斯在马达加斯加对付海盗的策略。罗杰斯答复他:血瓶是作为监视之用。霍尼戈尔德表达了自己的担忧,因为他也曾献出自己的一瓶血。罗杰斯向他保证,霍尼戈尔德的血只是作为测试,不会在正式任务中被用到。

接下来,他们与圣殿骑士最高大师劳雷亚诺·德·托雷斯-阿亚拉会面,告诉他伯吉斯和科克拉姆正在普林西比追踪圣者巴塞洛缪·罗伯茨,且已经胜利在望。在谈话中,霍尼戈尔德发现寒鸦号在港口停泊,意识到爱德华·肯维正在监听他们的对话。

肯维被迫现身,他责备了霍尼戈尔德的背叛,后者则辩称圣殿骑士的行动是正义的,肯维永远不会理解他们的事业。霍尼戈尔德派自己的手下对付肯维,自己和其他圣殿骑士一同逃跑了。

死亡编辑

“我从不认为我的选择是错误的,事实上,我也希望你能够明白圣殿骑士的崇高目的……”
——本杰明·霍尼戈尔德对爱德华的最终遗言, 1719.[来源]
Murder and Mayhem 4

本杰明号被寒鸦号追至搁浅

肯维逃离金斯顿之后,为了找到“圣者”罗伯茨的下落,霍尼戈尔德驾驶自己的旗舰本杰明号一直暗地跟踪爱德华的寒鸦号。不过,他的行踪还是被罗伯茨发现。罗伯茨以“能否进入观测所”威胁爱德华除掉自己昔日的好友。爱德华不顾同僚反对欣然接受。

在发觉自己的追踪行动被发现后,霍尼戈尔德迅速撤退,并将寒鸦号引入礁石丛生、水路复杂的尤卡坦半岛腹地。在那里,霍尼戈尔德麾下的英国战舰四处游弋,准备击沉前来追击的寒鸦号。不过,爱德华凭借着天才的海战经验,成功利用大雾天气的掩护避开了英国海军的巡逻,并最终找到了霍尼戈尔德的本杰明号。

面对爱德华·肯维和寒鸦号的突然出现,霍尼戈尔德猝不及防。他一面逃窜,一面在防卫舰的掩护下攻击寒鸦号。但是爱德华成功的击沉了本杰明号周围的护卫舰船,并迫使本杰明号在圣坦尼利亚斯岛搁浅。霍尼戈尔德率领本杰明号的水手逃向圣坦尼利亚斯岛,并在岛上的玛雅神殿遗迹上建立防御工事。此间,霍尼戈尔德凭借对爱德华的熟知,要求所有的士兵背靠背谨慎行动,一旦发现爱德华的身影绝不留情。然而,爱德华还是凭借他天生的刺客本领潜入到神殿顶部,空中刺杀了霍尼戈尔德。

临终前,霍尼戈尔德斥责肯维的堕落,并且宣称,自从英军占领拿索之后,爱德华从未想过拿索民众和聚集在拿索周边海盗们的未来。然而,霍尼戈尔德还是希望爱德华看到圣殿骑士的光荣,希望爱德华能够与圣殿骑士合作,不过,爱德华仍然将霍尼戈尔德视作海盗集团的叛徒,并认为杀掉他是一件正确的事。[2]

性格特征编辑

爱德华:“记得那个赦免令,萨奇。我们得小心点。
萨奇:“这是霍尼戈尔德的说法!他已经失去了身为一个海盗的尊严。
爱德华:“啊,他喜欢谨慎,不喜欢暴力。
——肯维与萨奇谈及霍尼戈尔德对国王赦免令的屈就,1718年。[来源]
Prizes and Plunder 4

霍尼戈尔德和肯威捕获一艘西班牙船

尽管霍尼戈尔德最初的野心与海上劫掠无关,但西班牙王位继承战争之后,私掠船被国家视为多余的存在,他最终被迫走上了这条道路。“爱国人士”霍尼戈尔德不攻击英国船只,或许这是出于对祖国的忠诚。此外,霍尼戈尔德具有军人风姿,重视秩序,这使得他看起来更像是一名士兵而非海盗。

虽然具有这些特征,但霍尼戈尔德还是受到船员和同僚的尊敬。他满腔热情地开始了自己的海盗生涯,在拿骚参与建立了海盗共和国,他坚定地认为这个社区将会繁荣壮大。然而,当拿骚面临疫病流行、管理落后、资金短缺的困境时,霍尼戈尔德对海盗的事业失去了信念。

霍尼戈尔德因其强烈的理想主义气质从他的同胞中脱颖而出。他对拿骚抱有极高的期望,认为这个地方提供了一个试验其社会理想的绝佳契机,能够创立一个没有腐败、盲从,与旧帝国完全不同的文明。打从一开始,霍尼戈尔德对于自由的理解就与爱德华·肯维不同:后者仅仅把自由看作是打破既有规则、背弃一切权威的生活方式,而前者则对整个文明形式怀有更加崇高的理念。

正是这种理想主义最终引导他加入了圣殿骑士阵营,以图建立起一个实现自身理想的文明,而不是像拿骚的居民一样浑浑噩噩地活着。对于海盗同伴来说,霍尼戈尔德也是一个良师益友,他教导爱德华·肯维登船的技巧,也警告他正在走上一条危险的道路。

琐事趣闻编辑

  • 资料库错误地将霍尼戈尔德的死亡日期记载为 1919 年。
  • 在历史上,霍尼戈尔德有着不可思议的登船技术,这反映到游戏中他教导爱德华如何登船。

画廊编辑

参考与注释编辑

Wikia

Assassin's Creed Wiki

Benjamin Hornigold

Talk3
5,046pages on
this wiki
Eraicon-AC4Eraicon-ACPEraicon-MemoriesEra-ACiEraicon-Blackflag-BookEraicon-Templars

Smallwikipedialogo

"We had here a rare opportunity; a chance to take something base and shape it into a government, made and maintained by men of vision. But in two years we pissed it away... I won't make that mistake again."
―Benjamin Hornigold to Charles Vane, on the failure of Nassau, 1718.[src]
Benjamin Hornigold
Benjamin Hornigold
Biographical information
Born

1680s
Norfolk, Kingdom of England

Died

September 1719
Santanillas, West Indies

Political information
Affiliations

Pirate Republic (1713 – 1718)
Crew of the Benjamin
Templars (1718 – death)
Royal Navy

Real-world information
Appears in

Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag
Black Flag novel
Assassin's Creed: Pirates
Assassin's Creed: Memories

Voice actor

Ed Stoppard

Benjamin Hornigold (1680s – 1719) was an English pirate from 1715 to 1718, and a member of the Templar Order. He was most famous for mentoring Edward Thatch and for being one of the founders of the Pirate Republic at Nassau.

BiographyEdit

Early lifeEdit

Hornigold was born in England in the 1680s, and at some point made his way across the ocean to the West Indies as a privateer. His first known act of piracy was in the winter of 1713-1714, when he used several small canoes and a sloop to raid ships and settlements in the Bahamas, eventually capturing a thirty-gun brig that he named the Ranger. This ship would eventually be given to his fellow pirate Charles Vane.

During Hornigold's first years as a pirate, his second-in-command was former privateer Edward Thatch. Soon their fleet expanded to five warships, led by the flagship Benjamin, pirating everywhere from Nassau to the Honduran coast.

However, Hornigold was known not to attack British ships, leading some to believe that he was actually a privateer instead of a pirate. Sometime during this period he met Edward Kenway, who was recruited by Thatch during their career as privateers.

Leader of the Pirate RepublicEdit

"Jaysus, let that dream go, lad. Nassau is the place to be, not England."
― Hornigold convincing Edward to remain in Nassau.[src]

Eventually, Hornigold helped establish a Pirate Republic called 'the Brethren of the Coast' in Nassau, sharing the responsibilities of leadership with Thatch, Vane, and James Kidd. When Kenway made his way to Nassau in 1715, Hornigold taught him how to successfully plunder ships, upgrade the Jackdaw, and lower his notoriety. Hornigold also tried to persuade Edward to give up on his estranged wife, Caroline Scott, and settle in Nassau.

Over the next three years, word reached Nassau that a pardon was being offered by Governor Woodes Rogers to any pirate who would accept it. Hornigold kept the pardon in mind as Nassau was ravaged by disease without an available cure.

While Thatch wished to steal medicine from British warships, Hornigold suggested that they temporarily halt their pirating activities until the British no longer deemed them a threat. This resulted in an argument between the two until Kenway proposed a third solution: search for medicines in old wrecks without attracting British attention. 

Devil's Advocate 2

Hornigold aboard the Benjamin

While Hornigold and Thatch were both initially satisfied with this approach, it was soon revealed that medicines found in the shipwrecks were in unusable condition. Frustrated by their lack of success, Thatch used the Queen Anne's Revenge to assault a British Man O' War, which left Hornigold's ship damaged. While his crew were repairing the ship, Hornigold met with Kenway and informed him of Thatch's decision. Before Kenway sailed off to look for Thatch, Hornigold told him to leave Thatch be, saying the man should take responsibility for his actions.

Although Kenway and Thatch were eventually able to recover medicines for the colony, the British arrived months later and blockaded Nassau. After meeting with Woodes Rogers and Commodore Peter Chamberlaine to discuss the King's pardon, Hornigold, Josiah Burgess and John Cockram accepted the offer and became pirate hunters for the British, tasked with bringing their former allies to justice.

Joining the TemplarsEdit

Edward: "A pox on you, traitor! You sold us down river!"
Hornigold: "Because I found a better path! The Templars know order. Discipline. Structure. But you never could fathom these subtleties."
―Hornigold to Kenway, defending the Templar cause, 1719.[src]

As a newly appointed pirate hunter, Hornigold became more notorious than he had ever been before, capturing several pirates who refused to take the pardon. Under Roger's command, Hornigold grew to respect his superior, and soon became a member of the Templar Order along with Burgess and Cockram.

Imagine My Surprise 5

Torres, Hornigold and Rogers in Kingston

In 1719, Hornigold and Rogers met in Kingston. Hornigold questioned the purpose of collecting blood samples and Roger's tactics when dealing with pirates in Madagascar. Upon hearing that the blood would be used for the purposes of spying, Hornigold expressed some concern, as he had given a sample of his blood as well. However, Rogers assured Hornigold that his sample would not be used in this manner; rather, it would act as a display of trust.

They later met with the Templar Grand Master Laureano de Torres y Ayala, telling him that Burgess and Cockram were close to locating the Sage Bartholomew Roberts in Príncipe. In the midst of their conversation, Hornigold spotted the Jackdaw anchored in the harbor, and realized that Kenway was spying on them.

Forced out of hiding, Kenway admonished Hornigold for his betrayal; Hornigold defended himself by claiming that the Templars' actions were just, and that Kenway could never understand their cause. He then made his escape with the other Templars, leaving Kenway to deal with his men.

DeathEdit

"Some mighty piss-poor sailing back there, lads! And if we live out this day, by God, I'm flaying every last bitch of you! Steady up! And keep your backs together, lads! This fight ain't over!"
―Benjamin Hornigold, making his last stand, 1719.[src]
Murder and Mayhem 4

The Benjamin running aground

Hornigold later followed Kenway and Roberts to the Yucatán Peninsula, but was detected by the pirates and sailed into a rocky, fog-covered formation known as "the Devil's Backbone". Kenway's Jackdaw managed to avoid British ships looking for him and traded blows with the Benjamin.

Lost in the fog, the Benjamin ran aground on the deserted island of Santanillas. Hornigold climbed to the top of an abandoned Mayan temple on the island, creating a makeshift perimeter with his soldiers, but Kenway was able to scale the building and air assassinate his former friend. 

Collapsing, Hornigold berated Kenway for how far he had fallen, disregarding the man's retort that Hornigold was no better than he was. With his dying words, Hornigold expressed regret that Kenway was too enamored with glory and bloodshed to see the wisdom of the Templars, and told Kenway that he would die alone and disgraced if he kept his present course.

Personality and characteristicsEdit

Edward: "Remember the pardon, Thatch. We're to be subtle."
Thatch: "Says Hornigold! A pirate now too proud to call himself one!"
Edward: "Ah, he prefers caution to cannons."
—Kenway and Thatch, regarding Hornigold's approach to the King's Pardon, 1718.[src]
Prizes and Plunder 4

Hornigold and Kenway capturing a Spanish ship

Though Hornigold's early ambitions did not include piracy, he was forced to take up the life due to privateers being rendered unnecessary after the War of Spanish Succession. A patriotic man, Hornigold chose not to attack any British ships, likely out of loyalty toward his home country. In addition, Hornigold had a military bearing, valuing order and behaving more like British soldier than a pirate.

In spite of these factors, he was respected by his crew and peers alike and took to the pirate life enthusiastically, helping found the Pirate Republic in Nassau; for this, he had strong faith that the community would grow and thrive. However, after Nassau succumbed to disease, poor governance and economic difficulties, Hornigold became disillusioned with the pirate cause.

Hornigold stood out from his compatriots in his strong idealism. He had extremely high hopes for Nassau, believing the settlement provided a rare chance to put their societal ideals to practice and create a civilization without the corruption and bigotry of the old empires. Even from the beginning, Hornigold's idea of freedom was different to that of Kenway's, with Kenway only considering freedom to be a license to live without rules and rebel against authority, whereas Hornigold possessed far more lofty ideas of civilization. It was this idealism that ultimately swayed him to join the Templars, to build a civilization and realize his ideals instead of living aimlessly as he thought was the case with the inhabitants of Nassau.

This aside, Hornigold was also a good friend to his compatriots, tutoring Kenway in the ways of captaincy, and even warning Kenway of the dangerous path he was taking.

TriviaEdit

GalleryEdit

ReferenceEdit

Around Wikia's network

Random Wiki