Fandom

Assassin's Creed

Ah Tabai

4 640pages sur
ce wiki
Ajouter une page
Discussion0 Share

Interférence d'un bloqueur de publicité détectée !


Wikia est un site gratuit qui compte sur les revenus de la publicité. L'expérience des lecteurs utilisant des bloqueurs de publicité est différente

Wikia n'est pas accessible si vous avez fait d'autres modifications. Supprimez les règles personnalisées de votre bloqueur de publicité, et la page se chargera comme prévu.

Assassins.pngAC4icon.pngBFbookicon.pngACROicon.png
"Les amis et les ennemis proviennent tout autant de l'intérieur que de l'extérieur. Dans la vie, la seule certitude est celle de la surprise..."
Ah Tabai[src]

Ah Tabai (années 1660 – 1745) était un membre de la Confrérie des Assassins aux XVIIe et XVIIIe siècles et le Mentor de la branche des Assassins Caribéens[1].


Biographie

Jeunesse

Né dans les années 1660 d'une famille d'Assassins Mayas, fils de Bahlam, qui était un Assassin avant lui et avait côtoyé un "Sage" à la fin du XVIIe siècle. Ah Tabai connu lui-même brièvement cet individu nommé Thom Kavanagh alors qu'il n'était qu'un enfant, en 1673, accompagnant son père, et l'aida à préparer son périple vers l'Observatoire. Toute sa jeunesse, Ah Tabai la passa au cœur de la Confrérie. Peu de choses sont connues des décennies suivantes de sa vie.[1]

Ah Tabai eut un fils vers 1705, mais l'enfant mourut avant d'avoir atteint dix ans[1].


Mentor des Assassins Caribéens

Suivant les traces de son père, Ah Tabai devint à son tour un Assassin et gravit au fil se sa vie les échelons pour devenir enfin Mentor, vers 1713. Puis il entreprit d'entretenir des contacts réguliers avec les Assassins des Colonies britanniques, au nord, ceux de différentes régions d'Europe et d'Afrique et ceux de Chine ; il joua aussi un rôle important dans l'ouverture de sa branche de la Confrérie à des hommes et des femmes de toutes professions et conditions, essentiellement des Européens, des Africains et des natifs de la région[1].


Du fait de ses origines mayas et de son vécu, Ah Tabai connaissait les récits et rumeurs relatifs à l'antique Observatoire. Et lorsqu'il entendit parler d'un nouveau "Sage" en 1713, Ah Tabai se lança à sa recherche, estimant que la protection de ce site ancien et mystérieux revenait aux Assassins. Ah Tabai mit à contribution un grand nombre d'Assassins, espérant que leurs réseaux d'espions et d'informateurs le mèneraient vers son objectif. Cependant, au bout de deux ans, il n'avait encore reçu aucune information probante[1].

Avant 1715, Ah Tabai rencontra Mary Read à Spanish Town et en fit son élève. Au début de 1715, un Assassin britannique chevronné du nom de Duncan Walpole arriva au campement d'Ah Tabai, où il fit part de son désir de bénéficier de la formation du Mentor. Ah Tabai trouva la requête étrange mais flatteuse, car Walpole avait déjà atteint une maîtrise auxquels peu d'Assassins étaient parvenus. Il accepta et, après quelques mois d'entraînement intensif, Ah Tabai en vint à considérer Duncan Walpole comme l'un de ses plus estimés collègues[1].

En juin 1715, le Mentor apprit que les Templiers avaient localisé le Sage – un dénommé Bartholomew Roberts – et le détenaient en territoire espagnol, loin au sud. Percevant une occasion de porter un rude coup à ses ennemis, Ah Tabai confia à Duncan Walpole la tâche consistant à rassembler divers Assassins des Indes occidentales et à prendre d'assaut le navire des Templiers chargé d'amener le Sage vers La Havane. Duncan Walpole accepta la mission mais il disparut sans la moindre nouvelle. Ce n'est que quelques jours plus tard, à l'issue de la désastreuse intervention d'Edward Kenway à La Havane qu'Ah Tabai découvrit la portée de la trahison de Walpole, après avoir envoyé d'autres Assassins récupérer le Sage[1].


Rencontre de Kenway

Ah Tabai: "Il semble qu'un autre Sage ait été trouvé et que la course vers l'Observatoire recommence."
Edward: "C'est pour ça qu'on chuchote ?"
Ah Tabai: "Tout est ta faute, capitaine Kenway. Les cartes que tu as vendues aux Templiers les ont conduits droit sur nous. Les agents de deux empires connaissent désormais l'emplacement de nos bases."
–Ah Tabai sermonnant Edward pour son ingérence lors de l'attaque sur Tulum, 1716
Rien n'est vrai 5.png

Edward, Mary et Ah Tabai

Ah Tabai était présent quand Mary Read mena Edward à Tulum en 1716, et demanda des nouvelles de Walpole. Edward avoua avoir tué le pauvre homme dans un affrontement. Toutefois, Ah Tabai n'exprima aucune peine à le savoir mort, mais il réprimanda violemment Edward pour avoir tué les Assassins envoyés récupérer le Sage, et pour avoir inconsciemment offert l'emplacement des Bureaux des Assasins aux Templiers[1].


Mary informa son Mentor qu'Edward possédait "le Sens", et qu'il avait fait la connaissance du Sage, lequel Edward affirma pouvoir reconnaître. Ah Tabai autorisa alors Mary à guider Edward à travers un temple en l'honneur du Sage pour voir si le buste le représentant à l'intérieur ressemblait au Roberts qu'Edward avait rencontré[1].

A leur retour, le village avait été assiégé par des soldats britanniques envoyés par les Templiers. Après qu'Edward ait libéré les Assassins et son propre équipage, Ah Tabai remarqua sa noblesse, mais aussi son arrogance, lui disant qu'il n'avait pas pas gagné le droit de porter la tenue d'Assassin volée sur Walpole. Ah Tabai l'absolut de son comportement à La Havane, mais il ne serait toujours pas le bienvenu à Tulum[1]


Sauvetage et initiations

Ah Tabai: "Et que penses-tu de notre credo ?"
Edward: "Je ne suis sûr de rien. Car si rien n'est vrai, comment croire en quoi que ce soit ? Et si tout est permis... pourquoi ne pas obéir à ses désirs ?"
Ah Tabai: "Oui, pourquoi ?"
Edward: "Peut-être cette idée n'est-elle que le début de la sagesse, et non son aboutissement."
Ah Tabai: "Je vois que l'homme que j'ai rencontré il y a bien longtemps a parcouru un long chemin."
–Edward et Ah Tabai discutant du Credo, 1721

En 1720, Ah Tabai fit le connaissance du quartier-maître d'Edward, Adéwalé, quand celui-ci arriva à Tululm après s'être trouvé obligé d'abandonner son capitaine à Long Bay, en Jamaïque. Désabusé par la République des Pirates de Nassau, Adéwalé recherchait une noble cause pour laquelle se battre et s'adressa alors à Ah Tabai, qui lui apprit les rudiments de la Confrérie des Assassins. Convaincu par ce qu'il avait entendu, Adéwalé rejoignit les Assassins et Ah Tabai le prit sous son aile[1].

Quelques mois plus tard, en 1721, on apprit qu'Edward avait été incarcéré à Port Royal, aux côtés de Mary et d'Anne Bonny. Adéwalé et Ah Tabai mirent au point un plan pour sauver le trio, et le Mentor se rendit personnellement à la prison de Kingston pour exécuter sa mission[1].

Après avoir libéré Edward de son gibet à l'extérieur du fort, il lui garantit sa protection en échange de la libération d'Anne et de Mary. Bien qu'ils aient libéré Anne avec succès, Mary succomba suite à des complication liées à son accouchement, qui avait eu lieu dans l'insalubrité de la prison. Lorsqu'Edward rapporta son corps sans vie à la barque d'Ah Tabai, le Mentor lui rendit sa tenue, déclarant qu'il ne l'avait peut-être pas méritée, mais qu'elle lui allait bien[1].

Après avoir subi les ravages de l'alcool en souhaitant noyer le chagrin de la disparition de Mary, Edward retourna à Tulum selon la volonté d'Adéwalé. Ayant mis un terme à ses nombreux défauts, Edward voulut se racheter auprès d'Ah Tabai, puisque le dernier vœu de Mary était qu'il fasse amende honorable et qu'il devienne un Assassin[1].

Ah Tabai était au courant de la grande reconnaissance de Mary pour Edward. Les deux hommes discutèrent brièvement des principes de la Confrérie, et Edward offrit sa propre vision de la Confrérie. Ah Tabai l'encouragea, en lui disant qu'il avait franchi une grande étape comparé à l'homme qu'il avait rencontré sept ans auparavant[1].

Ils furent interrompus par un assaut espagnol, qu'Edward parvint à repousser. Après le combat, Ah Tabai lui attribua trois cibles: Woodes Rogers, Bartholomew Roberts et le Grand Maitre, Laureano de Torres y Ayala[1].


Conséquences

Ah Tabai: "Rassure-toi, c'est fini. Rendors-toi. Ce lieu doit être scellé et sa clé jetée. Jusqu'à ce qu'un nouveau Sage apparaisse, cette porte demeurera verrouillée."
Edward: "La dernière fois que j'étais ici il y avait des fioles remplies du sang de vieux ancêtres d'après Roberts. Mais elles ont disparu."
Ah Tabai: "Alors il nous appartient de les retrouver. Avant que les Templiers n'en n'aient connaissance. Tu seras utile à notre cause."
–Edward et Ah Tabai après avoir caché le Crâne, 1722

Suite à l'assassinat de Torres dans l'Observatoire en 1722, Ah Tabai félicita Edward avant d'insérer dans la sphère armillaire le Crâne de Cristal qui faisait fonctionner le bâtiment. Selon lui, l'Observatoire devrait rester fermé jusqu'à la découverte d'un nouveau Sage[1].

Edward lui apprit que lorsqu'il y était venu avec Roberts, il y avait vu des centaines de Fioles de sang qui avaient désormais disparu. Il promit à Ah Tabai de l'aider à les retrouver après son retour à Bristol pour enfin revoir sa chère et tendre Caroline. Avec remords, Ah Tabai lui tendit une lettre lui apprenant le décès de cette dernière et l'existence de leur fille, Jennifer Scott[1].

Avant de réunir la famille Scott-Kenway, Edward offrit aux Assassins son Manoir de Great Inagua. Mais Ah Tabai pensait, comme le pensait Altaïr Ibn-La'Ahad, que la Confrérie devrait s'étendre au delà des frontières dans le seul but de protéger les hommes qui y habitaient[1].


Fin de vie

Dans les années 1730, Ah Tabai recruta son dernier élève connu, Achilles Davenport, qu'il envoya dans les colonies britanniques d'Amérique du Nord pour y fonder une branche d'Assassins. Les deux hommes s'écrivirent durant plusieurs années jusqu'à la mort d'Ah Tabai, en 1745[2].

Personnalité et caractéristiques

Né et élevé comme un Assassin, Ah Tabai prenait son rôle très au sérieux, et affichait toujours un calme et une sagesse frappante. Il fit également preuve de patience avec le comportement hautain et arrogant d'Edward. Lorsqu'il évoquait son passé, ce qui arrivait relativement peu souvent, il éludait fréquemment les détails personnels au profit d'abstractions ou de simples indices. Ah Tabai était très fier de son héritage Maya, parlant souvent de son admiration envers l'histoire tragique de son peuple et utilise fréquemment ces références pour illustrer la complexité des relations entre les différentes cultures et religions. Cela l'a amené à accepté dans la Confrérie des gens de tous horizons et religions. Sa grande sagesse amenait les Assassins sous sa tutelle à se référer très souvent à lui. Mais malgré sa sagesse, il était manipulable, faisant toujours confiance à Duncan Walpole après sa trahison[1].

Dévoué à la cause des Assassins, Ah Tabai utilisa à bon escient son héritage Maya. Né et ayant toujours vécu à Tulum, Ah Tabai mena une vie ascétique au sein de la communauté des Assassins. Ses origines mayas lui faisaient connaître toutes sortes de mythes et de légendes propres à sa culture, et de ce fait, il connaissait les mythes relatifs à l'antique Observatoire, pensant qu'il était du devoir des Assassins de le protéger. Tout au long de sa vie, Ah Tabai s'efforça d'adhérer le plus possible aux idéaux prônait des siècles auparavant par le grand Altaïr Ibn-La'Ahad, partageant ses croyances à propos de l'intégration des Assassins dans la société pour mieux la protéger[1].

S'il était stoïque en apparence, Ah Tabai pouvait se montrer attentionné et sensible. Il se souciait profondément des hommes et des femmes sous sa tutelle, et sentit coupable de la perte des Assassins morts lors des attaques subies par Tulum, acceptant finalement de déplacer le quartier général des Assassins à Great Inagua. Il montra une profonde prostration après la mort de Mary Read et seul, escorta difficilement Anne Bonny hors de la prison, en tentant de la rassurer tandis qu'elle accouchait. Ah Tabai était également très indulgent, ayant absous Edward pour sa négligence à La Havane. D'abord méfiant envers le pirate, il le libéra de son gibet sans rien attendre en retour et, reconnaissant de sa sincérité, l'accepta dans la Confrérie[1].

Équipement et capacités

Né au sein de la Confrérie, Ah Tabai était un Assassin très entraîné. Il était très habile en furtivité, se servant de l'environnement luxuriant des Caraïbes pour se cacher et était un adepte de la course libre. Tout au long de sa vie Ah Tabai transmit ses connaissances en formant divers Assassins, dont, parmi les plus notables, Mary Read, Duncan Walpole, Adewalé, Edward Kenway[1] et Achilles Davenport[2].

Même en ayant atteint un âge respectable, Ah Tabai parvint à s'échapper des hommes de Laurens Prins, et en éliminer plusieurs silencieusement tout en ne se faisant pas repérer, au cours d'une attaque sur Tulum. Plus tard, il s'infiltra dans Fort Charles, tout seul, pour libérer Edward et Anne Bonny, avant de s'enfuir sur une barque[1].


Notes

  • Son nom Ah Tabai fait référence au dieu maya de la Chasse, est un mystère et l'on sait très peu de choses sur son enfance et sa jeunesse.
  • Dans la mémoire En mauvaise posture, Ah Tabai peut être vu en rouge avec la Vision d'Aigle. Il est difficile de savoir s'il s'agit d'un bug ou d'un ajout volontaire eu égard aux relations tendues entre Edward et le Mentor à cette époque (peu de temps après qu'Edward ait sans le savoir mis la Confrérie en grave danger).


Galerie


Sur le réseau Fandom

Wiki au hasard

Fandom

Assassin's Creed Wiki

Ah Tabai

8,227pages on
this wiki
Add New Page
Talk2 Share

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.

Eraicon-AC4Eraicon-MemoriesEraicon-RogueEraicon-Blackflag-BookEraicon-Assassins

"From within and without come enemies and allies alike. Nothing in life is guaranteed, except surprise..."
―Ah Tabai.[src]
Ah Tabai
AC4 Ah Tabai render
Biographical information
Born

1660s
Tulum, Yucatán Peninsula, New Spain

Died

c. 1745
Great Inagua, the Bahamas

Political information
Affiliations

Assassins

Real-world information
Appears in

Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag
Assassin's Creed: Black Flag

Voice actor

Milton Lopes

Ah Tabai (1660s – c. 1745) was a Mayan Assassin, and the Mentor of the Assassin Brotherhood in the Caribbean. His noteworthy students included Mary Read, Duncan Walpole, Adéwalé, and Achilles Davenport.[1][2]

BiographyEdit

Early lifeEdit

Born in the 1660s to a family of Mayan Assassins and fathered by the Assassin Bahlam, Ah Tabai spent the entirety of his youth with the Order. In 1673, he briefly met the Sage Thom Kavanagh when his father brought the man to the Assassin compound, and subsequently traveled with them to prepare the Sage for his journey to the Observatory. Little else is known of his early decades.[1]

By 1705, Ah Tabai had a son, but the child died before his tenth birthday.[1]

Mentor of the Caribbean AssassinsEdit

By 1713, Ah Tabai had risen to the rank of Mentor. He maintained semi-regular contact with the Assassins in the British North American colonies, various parts of Europe and Africa, as well as China. Besides this, Ah Tabai was also crucial in opening the Caribbean Assassins to men and women from around the world. His Brotherhood consisted mainly of Europeans, Africans and the local natives.[1]

In 1713, rumors began circulating of the appearance of a new Sage and Ah Tabai, believing it was the Assassins' duty to protect the Observatory, sent word to various Assassin outposts in an attempt to track the man down. However, two years later, the effort had yielded no results.[1]

Prior to 1715, Ah Tabai met Mary Read in Spanish Town, Jamaica, and elected to take her on as a student. In early 1715, Ah Tabai also met the Assassin Duncan Walpole, who requested to train under the Mentor directly, despite already being a Master Assassin. Over the course of the next few months, Ah Tabai came to regard Walpole as one of his most trusted colleagues.[1]

In June of that year, the Caribbean Assassins received word that a Sage - Bartholomew Roberts - had been captured by the Templars and was being transported via prison ship to Havana. Noticing an opportunity to deliver a crippling blow to his enemies, Ah Tabai tasked Walpole with gathering Assassin forces throughout the region and launching an assault on the ship.[1]

It was only after Walpole left the Brotherhood's base in Tulum that Ah Tabai learned of his defection to the Templar Order. However, the full extent of Walpole's betrayal was not realized until later: after a failed attempt by the Assassins to recover the Sage via ground assault, it was discovered that Walpole had intended to present a blood vial and maps marking the location of Caribbean Assassin bureaus to the Templars. Instead, they had been delivered by the pirate Edward Kenway, who had assumed Duncan's identity.[1]

Quest for the SageEdit

Ah Tabai: "It seems another Sage has been found, the race for the Observatory begins anew."
Edward: "Is that why we're whispering?"
Ah Tabai: "This is your doing, Captain Kenway. The maps you sold to the Templars have led them straight to us. And now the agents of two empires know exactly where we operate."
—Ah Tabai and Edward during the attack on Tulum, 1716.[src]
Nothing Is True 5

Edward, Mary, and Ah Tabai

Ah Tabai was present when Mary brought Edward to Tulum in 1716, and demanded to know Walpole's location. Edward admitted to killing the man in the midst of a confrontation. Although he expressed no sorrow at Walpole's death, Ah Tabai confronted the pirate for having killed the Assassins sent after the Sage, and for unwittingly providing the location of Assassin bases to the Templars.[1]

Mary informed her Mentor that Edward had "the Sense", and that he had met the Sage, staying Ah Tabai's hand. After confirming that Edward would recognize the Sage if he saw the man again, Ah Tabai allowed Mary to escort Edward into a temple to see if a bust of the Sage within resembled Roberts.[1]

When the two returned, the village had been seized by British soldiers sent by the Templars. After Edward worked to free both Assassins and his own crew, Ah Tabai noted his noble actions, but remarked on his arrogance, stating that he had not earned the right to wear the Assassin robes he had taken from Walpole. Ah Tabai declared Edward absolved of his actions in Havana and elsewhere, but said he was not welcome in Tulum.[1]

Welcoming piratesEdit

Ah Tabai: "What do you think of our creed?"
Edward: "It's hard to say. For if nothing is true, then why believe anything? And if everything is permitted... why not chase every desire?"
Ah Tabai: "Why indeed?"
Edward: "It might be that this idea is only the beginning of wisdom, and not its final form."
Ah Tabai: "That's quite a step up from the Edward I met here many years ago."

—Edward and Ah Tabai discussing the Creed, 1721.[src]

In 1720, Ah Tabai met with Edward's quartermaster, Adéwalé, after the man was forced to abandon his captain in Long Bay, Jamaica. Disillusioned with the defunct Pirate Republic in Nassau, Adéwalé was in search of a nobler cause and spoke with Ah Tabai at length, inquiring about the nature of Assassin Order. Pleased with what he learned, Adéwalé joined the Assassins, and Ah Tabai took him on as a student.[1]

Several months later, news reached Tulum that Edward was imprisoned in Port Royal, along with Mary and Anne Bonny. Adéwalé and Ah Tabai, after taking some convincing, devised a scheme to rescue the three, and Ah Tabai himself traveled to the prison to execute it.[1]

To Suffer Without Dying 9

Ah Tabai returning Edward's robes

Releasing Edward from a gibbet outside of the fort, he offered the man safe passage in return for assistance in rescuing Mary and Anne. Though they successfully saved Anne, Mary died as a result of sickness from childbirth in the prison's unsanitary conditions. When Edward brought her body to Ah Tabai's boat, Ah Tabai presented him with the Assassin robes taken from Walpole, saying that while he had not earned them, they suited him.[1]

After drinking heavily to drown his sorrow at Mary's passing, Edward returned to Tulum at Adéwalé's request. Having come to terms with his flaws, Edward asked Ah Tabai to help him redeem himself, as Mary's dying wish had been for him to make amends and join the Assassins.[1]

Everything is Permitted 5

Edward offering to help Ah Tabai

Ah Tabai acknowledged Mary's high opinion of Edward, and the two briefly conversed about the principles of the Order, with Edward offering his perspective. Though admitting it was an undeveloped one, Ah Tabai nevertheless encouraged him, saying that it was a significant step up from the man he had met five years before.[1]

The two were interrupted by a Spanish attack on the island, which Edward assisted in repelling, using the rope darts given to him by Ah Tabai. Following the battle, Ah Tabai assigned Edward three assassination targets: Woodes Rogers, Bartholomew Roberts, and the Templar Grand Master, Laureano de Torres y Ayala.[1]

Fight for the ObservatoryEdit

Ah Tabai: "(Quiet now. Go back to sleep.) We will seal this place, and discard the key. Until another Sage appears, this door will remain locked."
Edward: "There were vials when I came here last. Filled with the blood of ancient men, Roberts said. But they're gone now."
Ah Tabai: "Then it's up to us to recover them. Before the Templars catch wind of this. You could join us in that cause."
—Edward and Ah Tabai after returning the Skull, 1722.[src]
Ever a Splinter 10

Ah Tabai returning the Crystal Skull to the Observatory

After Edward killed Torres in the Observatory in 1722, Ah Tabai arrived and congratulated him before inserting the Crystal Skull, which powered the Observatory back into the armillary sphere. He declared that the Observatory should remain sealed until such time as the next Sage was found.[1]

Although Edward revealed that when he last visited the Observatory with Roberts, most hundreds of blood vials present were now gone. He promised to help recover them after he returned home to Bristol to see his wife, Caroline. Remorsefully, Ah Tabai handed a letter, which had arrived for Edward a week prior, to him, informing him the death of his wife and the existence of his daughter, Jennifer Scott.[1]

Before reuniting with his daughter, Edward offered Ah Tabai and the Assassins the use of his Manor on Great Inagua. Although Ah Tabai believed, as Altaïr Ibn-La'Ahad had, that the Order should decentralize and live with the people it sought to protect, he readily accepted the offer.[1]

Later lifeEdit

"I hope your remaining days are comfortable and free of pain, Ah Tabai. Thank you for everything you have given me. I will never forget you."
―Acarina Larssons last letter to Ah Tabai, 1745.[src]

In the mid-1730s, Ah Tabai recruited and trained Achilles Davenport, whom he would later send to the Thirteen Colonies in order to establish a Brotherhood there, with the help of the French Assassin John de la Tour. At some point, Ah Tabai entrusted several ancient maps of the Yucatán Peninsula to several members of his order, including Rhona Dinsmore. Ah Tabai and Achilles maintained a correspondence, until the former passed away around 1745.[2]

Personality and characteristicsEdit

"Our goal must be to scatter our operations. To live and work among the people we protect, just as Altaïr Ibn-La'Ahad once counseled."
―Ah Tabai, 1722.[src]
Overrun and Outnumbered 7

Ah Tabai scolding Edward

Born and raised as an Assassin, Ah Tabai took his role very seriously, displaying a calm and wise bearing. He also had little patience with Edward Kenway's cocky and arrogant behavior. He rarely spoke of his own life, and when he did, it would only be in the form of cryptic references. Ah Tabai was proud of his Mayan heritage, and would often speak of his people's tragic history. He used these stories to exemplify the complexity of interactions between different cultures and religions. This led him to accept people of all faiths and nationalities into the Brotherhood. His compassion and wisdom led the Assassins under his command to look up to him greatly. Despite his great intellect, Ah Tabai was still deceived into trusting the Assassin turncoat Duncan Walpole.[1]

Dedicated to the Assassin cause, Ah Tabai synthesized it with the ways of his people. Born in Tulum, he lived a somewhat ascetic life in the Assassin community. As a Mayan, he was well acquainted with stories and rumors of the ancient Observatory, believing the Assassins should be the ones to protect it. For most of his life, Ah Tabai strove to adhere as closely as possible to the ideals of the legendary Assassin Mentor Altaïr Ibn-La'Ahad, sharing his beliefs that the Assassins should live among the people in order to protect them.[1]

Despite his near stoic demeanor, Ah Tabai could be a caring and sensitive individual. He cared deeply for the men and women under his command, and felt guilty over the Assassins that died during the many attacks on Tulum, eventually agreeing to relocate to Great Inagua. He expressed great dismay upon discovering Mary Read's death, and singlehandedly escorted a laboring Anne Bonny out of prison, calming her during childbirth. Ah Tabai could also be very forgiving, absolving Edward of his actions against the Assassins. Despite his distrust towards the pirate, Ah Tabai freed him from prison without demanding anything in return. He later bade Edward good fortune and accepted him into the Brotherhood, recognizing the pirate's sincerity.[1]

Equipment and skillsEdit

Having been born into the Brotherhood, Ah Tabai was a highly skilled Assassin. He was especially adept at stealth, using the environment to hide, and was a capable freerunner as well. Throughout his life, Ah Tabai would pass these skills on, training Assassins such as Mary Read, Duncan Walpole, Adéwalé, Edward Kenway,[1] and Achilles Davenport.[2]

Even as a middle-aged man, Ah Tabai was able to evade capture by Laurens Prins' troops, and silently dispatch several of them undetected during an attack on Tulum. He would later sneak into Fort Charles alone and free Edward Kenway and Anne Bonny, before escaping in a rowing boat.[1]

Ah Tabai wore a sienna set of robes with a metal shoulderplate and collar. He was equipped with dual Hidden Blades, a small knife, and a blowpipe. He used these to kill or incapacitate efficiently, while usually avoiding combat.[1]

TriviaEdit

  • "Ah Tabai" is the name of a Mayan god of hunting and protector of animals.
  • In the memory "Overrun and Outnumbered", Ah Tabai appears with a red aura when seen with Eagle Vision. However, it is unknown if this is a glitch or deliberate design decision, due to hostilities between Edward and Ah Tabai for the pirate's harmful actions against the Brotherhood.

GalleryEdit

ReferencesEdit

Also on Fandom

Random Wiki